Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

#StatAttack: 30 Years of Jerez

#StatAttack: 30 Years of Jerez

This is the 30th successive year that a motorcycle Grand Prix event has been held at the Jerez circuit since it was first used in 1987.

Everything you need to know about one of the most historic races on the MotoGP™ calendar.

  • Assen is the only current venue that has been used consecutively for a longer period than Jerez.
  • A total of 89 Grand Prix races for solo motorcycles have been held at the Jerez circuit as follows: MotoGP™ – 14, 500cc – 15, Moto2™ – 6, 250cc – 23, Moto3™ – 4, 125cc – 24, 80cc – 3.
  • Spain has been the most successful nation at the Jerez circuit, having taken a total of thirty Grand Prix victories across all classes: 7 x MotoGP™, 4 x 500cc, 3 x Moto2™, 6 x 250cc, 1 x Moto3™, 6 x 125cc, 3 x 80cc.
  • Since the introduction of the MotoGP™ class in 2002, Honda have had seven victories at Jerez, Yamaha six and Ducati have had one win, with Loris Capirossi in 2006.
  • Only three non-Spanish riders have won in the MotoGP™ class at Jerez – Valentino Rossi (2002, 2003, 2005, 2007 & 2009), Loris Capirossi (2006) & Casey Stoner (2012).
  • Jerez has been the most successful circuit for the Spanish riders as regards premier-class victories, with a total of eleven wins; Alberto Puig in 1995, Alex Criville in 1997, 98, 99, Sete Gibernau in 2004,  Dani Pedrosa in 2008 & 2013, Jorge Lorenzo in 2010, 2011 & 2015, and Marc Marquez in 2014.
  • There has been at least one Spanish rider on the podium in the MotoGP™ race at Jerez for the last twelve years, a sequence that started in 2004.
  • Alberto Puig’s victory at Jerez on 7th May 1995 was the first win for a Spanish rider in the premier-class on home soil.
  • Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider at the Jerez circuit with eight Grand Prix victories to his name; a single victory in both the 125cc and 250cc classes to add to his six in the premier-class.
  • Suzuki’s last victory at Jerez was in 2000, when Kenny Roberts won the 500cc race on his way to taking the world title.
  • Spain has had at least one winner across the three classes at the Jerez GP for the last six years.
  • Last year at Jerez Jorge Lorenzo qualified on pole and led every lap of the race.
  • With his third place finish at Jerez last year, Valentino Rossi became the first rider in the 67 years of motorcycle Grand Prix racing to reach the milestone of 200 GP podium finishes.

Other updates you may be interested in ›