Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

A guide to the #SpanishGP premier class race

A guide to the #SpanishGP premier class race

It's the same trio on the front row for the third race in a row, can we get a third winner?

The Gran Premio Red Bull de España begins at 14:00 Local Time and will last 27-laps.

  • For the third successive race the same three riders are on the front row of the grid in MotoGP™.
  • Valentino Rossi starts from pole for the 62nd time across all classes, the same number of poles that Jorge Lorenzo has had during his GP career. Rossi will be aiming to win for the first time since the British GP at Silverstone last year.
  • This is just the fourth time that Rossi has started from pole since the end of the 2009 season. The other three were; Le Mans in 2010, Valencia 2014 and at the Dutch TT last year. The last time that Rossi started from pole at Jerez was in 2005.
  • Yamaha have taken the top two places on the grid for the first time since the Japanese Grand Prix last year.
  • Jorge Lorenzo is in second place on the grid – the ninth successive year he has been on the front row at Jerez in the MotoGP™ class.
  • Marc Marquez starts from third place on the grid, which is his worst qualifying performance since he was third fastest qualifier at Motegi last year.
  • Heading the second row of the grid is the fastest Ducati rider in qualifying Andrea Dovizioso – his best qualifying result since he was fourth on the grid at Motegi last year. Jerez is one of just three current circuits where he has not had a podium in the MotoGP™ class, along with Misano and the Red Bull Ring that is being used for the first time this year
  • In fifth place on the grid is Maverick Viñales, which is the best ever qualifying result by a Suzuki rider at Jerez in the MotoGP™ era of grand prix racing.
  • Aleix Espargaro takes the final place on the second row – the first time since Catalunya last year that both Suzuki riders have qualified in the top six places on the grid.
  • Dani Pedrosa is in seventh place on the grid; the last time he started a race at Jerez and was not on the front row was when he was in 5th place on the grid in his Rookie MotoGP season of 2006.
  • The highest placed of the Independent Team riders is Pol Espargaro in eighth place on the grid. Pol Espargaro has won at Jerez in both the 125cc class (2010) and Moto2 (2012).
  • Alvaro Bautista heads the fifth row of the grid – his best qualifying performance since joining the Aprilia factory team at the start of last year.

Other updates you may be interested in ›