Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

An Italian track ruled by the Spanish

An Italian track ruled by the Spanish

Mugello is not only a favourite circuit of fans and riders alike, but it also boasts a proud and long history of top level Grand Prix racing

Mugello has a long history of hosting motorcycle grand prix racing and below are some facts and statistics from previous GP events at the circuit:

  • This is the 31st occasion that a GP has been held at the Mugello circuit, including 26 times in the consecutive years from 1991.
  • The first time that Mugello hosted a grand prix event was in 1976.  The 500cc race was won by Barry Sheene by the narrow margin of 0.1 sec from Phil Read, in a race lasting over 62 minutes. This was at a time when Suzuki riders dominated the premier-class; the first non-Suzuki rider home was Waerum Borge Nielsen in tenth place riding a Yamaha.
  • The layout of the Mugello circuit has remained basically the same since 1976 with the official track length of 5.245km remaining unchanged.
  • Yamaha have been the most successful manufacturer in the four-stroke MotoGP™ era at Mugello with a total of nine wins; five successive victories with Valentino Rossi in the years 2004 through to 2008, in addition to the wins with Lorenzo in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2015. 
  • Honda have had four wins in the MotoGP™ class at Mugello: Valentino Rossi in 2002 and 2003, Dani Pedrosa in 2010, and Marc Marquez in 2014.
  • Andrea Iannone’s second place finish last year was the first podium finish at Mugello for Ducati since Stoner gave them the single victory at the circuit in 2009.
  • The best results for Suzuki in the MotoGP™ era is fifth, which was achieved by John Hopkins in 2007 and Loris Capirossi in 2009.
  • Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all the classes at Mugello, with a total of nine victories; one each in 125cc and 250cc classes to add to his seven successive MotoGP™ wins (2 x Honda + 5 x Yamaha), the last of which came in 2008.
  • Loris Capirossi is the only Italian rider other than Rossi to win in the premier-class at Mugello, the 500cc race in 2000 after a race long battle with his countrymen Biaggi and Rossi, both of whom crashed in the closing stages.
  • The MotoGP™ race at Mugello in 2004 is the shortest ever premier-class grand prix race. The race lasted just six laps, after the first attempt to run the race was stopped due to rain and then restarted for the remaining laps under the rain rules as they stood at that time.
  • Italy, together with The Netherlands and Great Britain are the only three countries that have hosted a motorcycle grand prix event in each year since the motorcycling world championship series started in 1949.
  • Andrea Iannone qualified on pole in 2015 at Mugello – his first pole in the MotoGP™ class.  This was the first time that an Italian rider on an Italian bike had qualified on pole for a premier-class grand prix in Italy since Giacomo Agostini was on pole for the 500cc GP at Imola in 1972.
  • In 2015 at Mugello, Danny Kent was on pole in the Moto3™ class and Sam Lowes in Moto2™ - the first time that Britain have had riders on pole in two of the classes since the Swedish GP at Anderstorp in 1977 when Barry Sheene was on pole in the 500cc class on a Suzuki and Mick Grant was on pole in the 250cc class on a Kawasaki.
MotoGP, 2016, GRAN PREMIO D'ITALIA TIM, #StatAttack

Other updates you may be interested in ›