Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Barcelona happy hunting ground for Spaniards

Barcelona happy hunting ground for Spaniards

The Catalan GP has rich history in the World Championship with Spanish riders enjoying a period of dominance in the last few years.

This is the 25th successive year that the Circuit de Catalunya has hosted a grand prix; it was first included in the motorcycle grand prix series in 1992, and below are some facts and statistics related to the previous GP events at the circuit:

  • Only three current venues have a longer on-going sequence of hosting grand prix events: Jerez, Mugello and Assen.

  • The last time that Spain did not have at least one GP winner across the three classes at the Catalan Grand Prix was 2002.

  • During the four-stroke MotoGP™ era, Yamaha have taken eight victories at the Catalunya circuit, Honda have had four wins and Ducati two.

  • The last win by Suzuki at the Catalunya Grand Prix was in 2000, with Kenny Roberts.  Since the introduction of the MotoGP™™ formula in 2002 the best results by Suzuki riders have been 4th place finishes by John Hopkins in both 2006 and 2007.

  • The last podium finish by a Ducati rider at the Catalan GP was the 3rd place finish by Casey Stoner in 2010.

  • Aleix Espargaro started from pole last year in Catalunya – the first pole for Suzuki since Chris Vermeulen took the top qualifying spot at the Dutch TT in 2007

  • Prior to last year, Honda riders have started from pole for the MotoGP™ race in Catalunya for the previous four years, but none of those riders have gone on to win the race from pole. The last Yamaha rider to start from pole was Jorge Lorenzo in 2010.  Ducati have had a single pole at the Catalunya GP – with Casey Stoner in 2008.

  • Only two riders have won the MotoGP™ race at Catalunya from pole position: Valentino Rossi in 2006 and Jorge Lorenzo in 2010.

  • Valentino Rossi is the most successful rider across all grand prix classes at the Catalunya circuit with nine victories (1 x 125cc, 2 x 250cc, 1 x 500cc, 5 x MotoGP™). The next most successful, with five wins is Jorge Lorenzo (1 x 250cc, 4 x MotoGP™).

  • There have been nine premier-class victories by Spanish riders at the Catalunya circuit; Alex Criville in 1995 & 1999, Carlos Checa in 1996, Dani Pedrosa in 2008, Jorge Lorenzo in 2010, 2012, 2013 & 2015, and Marc Marquez in 2014.

  • There has been at least one Spanish rider on the podium in the MotoGP™ race at the Catalan GP for the last nine years.

  • For the last two years, the three riders who won at Catalunya all went on to win their respective world titles.

  • Maria Herrera finished 15th in the Moto3™ race in Catalunya last year to become the fifth female rider to score points in grand prix racing, along with: Taru Rinne – 125cc, Tomoko Igata – 125cc, Katja Poensgen – 250cc and Ana Carrasco – Moto3™.


Other updates you may be interested in ›