Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Late strike sees Oettl top FP1

German fastest in FP1 as Moto3™ kick off the #QatarGP

Philipp Oettl (Südmetall Schedl GP Racing) was fastest in Moto3™ FP1 at Losail International Circuit, just ahead of Joan Mir (Leopard Racing) and Gabriel Rodrigo (RBA Racing). Rodrigo has now sadly been ruled out of the #QatarGP after breaking his collarbone later in the session.

Marcos Ramirez (Platinum Bay Real Estate) and Andrea Migno (Sky Racing Team VR46) were the first crashers of the year, both at Turn 2 and escaping unscathed. Rodrigo then crashed at Turn 16 in the last seconds of the session, collecting an unlucky Ramirez once again.

Juanfran Guevara (RBA BOE Racing Team), Romano Fenati (Marinelli Rivacold Snipers), Ramirez and Bo Bendsneyder were the top seven – ahead of Ayumu Sasaki (SIC Racing Team), who impressed as fastest rookie in P8. The Japanese rider has also raced at Losail in the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup.

The top ten was completed by Niccolo Antonelli (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Adam Norrodin (SIC Racing Team).

#QatarGP: Moto3™ Free Practice 1