Closest podium finishes in MotoGP™ history

Dovizioso, Lorenzo and Marquez crossed the line 0.368 apart at Brno, but what are the seven races that produced a tighter top three?

The 2018 Czech GP etched itself into the history books after Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), teammate Jorge Lorenzo and Championship leader Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) crossed the line 0.368 tenths apart in a high-speed game of chess – the third tightest margin between the top three in the MotoGP™ era and the eighth when including 500cc races.

So, what are the closest podium finishes in the premier class?

1 – The closest finish in premier class history was witnessed at the 1999 Australian Grand Prix. Tadayuki Okada beat Max Biaggi and Regis Laconi to the line, with the trio split by just 0.124 seconds.

Australia, 1999

2 – Second on the list is the 2006 Portuguese Grand Prix, the scene of Toni Elias’ famous victory over Valentino Rossi by 0.002 seconds with Kenny Roberts Jr. taking third, 0.176 behind. Colin Edwards was the privileged spectator that day in fourth and although beaten, teammate Rossi would take an eight-point lead into Valencia’s grand finale title showdown with Nicky Hayden.

3 – Then there’s the 1999 Brazilian Grand Prix, won by Norick Abe. The Japanese rider was able to beat fellow Yamaha rider Max Biaggi that day, with Kenny Roberts Jr rounding out the podium – 0.257 seconds from the win. Alex Criville would take the title after finishing sixth. 

Criville, 1999, Brasil

4 – Fourth in the rankings is the 2006 German Grand Prix. Starting tenth on the grid, Valentino Rossi soon made his way to the front, but his attempted escaped would come to no avail. That day, compatriot Marco Melandri and title rival Nicky Hayden would finish on the podium behind the ‘Doctor’, the three split by 0.266 seconds. 

5 – The 1993 Japanese Grand Prix at Suzuka saw Wayne Rainey triumph over his great rival Kevin Schwantz by 0.086 seconds, with Darryl Beattie third at the checkered flag – 0.287 back from Rainey.

Schwantz, 1993, Suzuka

6 – Phillip Island hosted the final round of the 2000 World Championship, and what a finish it was. Max Biaggi was the victor, 0.182 ahead of second place Loris Capirossi and 0.288 ahead of third place Valentino Rossi.

Australia, 2000

7 – 1991 at Suzuka saw Kevin Schwantz get his year off to the perfect start, beating Mick Doohan and Wayne Rainey to the win, with his fellow American 0.353 back in third.