Suzuki lose concessions for 2019

Immediate and future changes will now face the Hamamatsu factory after Iannone’s Aragon podium

After Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Andrea Iannone notched up his third podium of the season at the Gran Premio Movistar de Aragon, adding to teammate Alex Rins’ two podium finishes in 2018, the Hamamatsu factory have now lost their concessions for 2019.

The granting and removal of concessions is based on the accrual by the manufacturer of Concession Points during races, in dry or wet conditions, taking into account all riders using that manufacturer’s machines. In accordance with the FIM World Championship Grand Prix Regulations, when a manufacturer reaches six concession points during the season, their right to concessions for the following season are removed. However, Suzuki face one immediate change, with their right to unlimited testing between now and the end of the season taken away – five days now the maximum. 

Iannone’s P3 in Aragon brought up the magic number six total for Suzuki, with three points being awarded for a win, two for second and one for third. However, it was teammate Rins who kick-started Suzuki’s podium run at the beginning of the season as he battled Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) and Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) for victory in Argentina – eventually crossing the line third for his maiden premier class podium.

‘The Maniac’ then claimed P3 at the Circuit of the Americas, before making it three podiums on the bounce for Suzuki with another P3 at the Circuito de Jerez – Angel Nieto. This meant that after just four rounds, the Japanese manufacturer were already halfway to losing their concessions for 2019. Three races then went by before Assen treated us to an absolute stunner, with Rins crossing the line in a MotoGP™ career-best second to take Suzuki to five concession points.

So, what does the Italian’s terrific third in Aragon mean for Suzuki in 2019, who now have six concession points to their name? Engine restrictions that Honda, Ducati and Yamaha have will be implemented at the start of the 2019 season, meaning Suzuki still have nine engines per rider available to them for the remainder of the season before only six will be allowed per rider. In addition, Suzuki can continue to modify the engine if they so wish. Also starting next season, Suzuki will only be able to have a maximum of three wildcard entries instead of the six currently at their disposal. 

Watch all races LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole video library, including technical features, exclusive interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass