Viñales fires Warm Up warning by ending fastest in the wet

The Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP rider starts from the front row of the grid later as he aims to halt the imperious Marc Marquez

Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Viñales sent a warm-up warning to his MotoGP™ rivals ahead of the Gran Premio Michelin® de Aragon by ending a quarter of a second clear of anybody else in mixed conditions at MotorLand Aragon.

Top Gun will start from the outside of the front row of the grid later today as he tries to put an end to Repsol Honda Team’s Marc Marquez’s dominance around the Spanish circuit. Incidentally, the poleman exited pitlane with just a handful of seconds remaining, opting to sit out the 20-minute session.

LCR Castrol Honda’s Cal Crutchlow was second quickest, a tenth clear of Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Joan Mir in third. Pramac Racing’s Francesco Bagnaia was fourth with compatriot Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) in fifth. The Doctor was spotted practicing a bike swap on his return to the box at the end of the session, with the possibility of a flag-to-flag race looming.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Mika Kallio was sixth quickest ahead of LCR Honda Idemitsu’s Takaaki Nakagami and Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Alex Rins. Rounding out the top ten were Bradley Smith (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) and Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT).

Marquez has been in imperious form all weekend but with dark clouds looming over the MotorLand Aragon circuit, the World Champion may well have one or two unforeseen hurdles to overcome if he is to complete his so-far perfect weekend. Don’t miss the Aragon Grand Prix at the earlier time of 13:00 (GMT+2) local time.

Top 10:
1. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) 1:59.111
2. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) + 0.289
3. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 0.403
4. Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Racing) + 0.600
5. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 0.864
6. Mike Kallio (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) + 0.903
7. Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda Idemitsu) + 1.089
8. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 1.173
9. Bradley Smith (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) + 1.372
10. Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) + 1.483

Click here for results!

Watch every 2019 race LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole video library, including technical features, exclusive interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass