Migno fastest in Moto3™ FP1 thanks to late switch to slicks

Heavy rain overnight meant the Sepang International Circuit took some drying this morning

Mugen Race’s Andrea Migno ended the opening session of the Shell Malaysian Grand Prix fastest after making the switch across to slick tyres in the final five minutes of FP1. The Italian was one of only a handful of riders to ditch the wet tyres in Moto3™ as the top 14 were split by an uncharacteristic 7.365 seconds.

The session started in the worst possible manner of Ayumu Sasaki at the Petronas Sprinta Racing squad’s home round after the Japanese rider crashed heavily at Turn 10, requiring a trip to the medical centre but has subsequently been declared fit. Lap times began to tumble in the final ten minutes with Migno’s final lap enough to take top spot, 0.351 seconds clear of Sterilgarda Max Racing Team’s Aron Canet.

Newly crowned Moto3™ World Champion Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) was one of the first to make the switch to slicks and set the third fastest time of the morning, ahead of VNE Snipers’ Tony Arbolino and Mugen Race’s Jaume Masia.

Sixth fastest and 2.5 seconds adrift of Migno was Makar Yurchekno (BOE Skull Rider Mugen Race), with Darryn Binder (CIP Green Power) a further six tenths back in seventh. Completing the top ten were Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing), Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) and Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia).

Top 10:
1. Andrea Migno (Mugen Race) – 2:18.921
2. Aron Canet (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) + 0.351
3. Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) + 1.291
4. Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) + 1.985
5. Jaume Masia (Mugen Race) + 2.123
6. Makar Yurchenko (BOE Skull Rider Mugen Race) + 2.566
7. Darryn Binder (CIP Green Power) + 3.212
8. Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing) + 3.563
9. Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 3.571
10. Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia) + 5.864

Click here for the full results! 

Watch every 2019 race LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole motogp.com video library, including technical features, exclusive interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass