Martin and Lüthi separated by 0.076 in testing

19 riders within a second with the top 10 covered by 0.4 – the Moto2™ riders didn’t disappoint on Wednesday in Jerez

The Moto2™ riders completed two sessions on Wednesday at the Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto and topping the combined standings was Jorge Martin (Red Bull KTM Ajo). The Spaniard set a 1:42.436 in the afternoon to lead Tom Lüthi (Liqui Moly Intact GP) by just 0.076, with Marco Bezzecchi (SKY Racing Team VR46) – despite only being ruled fit to ride on Tuesday after suffering a broken ankle while training – finishing P3 overall.

Sam Lowes, EG 0,0 Marc VDS, Jerez Moto2™-Moto3™ Official Test

Under the soaring Andalusian sun, the intermediate class riders were getting to grips with their Triumph machines for the first time since they went racing in Qatar. Four months have passed since Tetsuta Nagashima (Red Bull KTM Ajo) took that emotional victory but Moto2™ remains competitive as ever, with hardly anything separating the top 10. Luca Marini made it two SKY Racing Team VR46 bikes in the top four, with Sam Lowes (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) completing a top five split by 0.251.

Italtrans Racing Team’s Enea Bastianini – podium man in Qatar – finished P6 on the combined times, with Marcel Schrötter (Liqui Moly Intact GP), Nagashima and Jorge Navarro (HDR Heidrun Speed Up) sitting three tenths off the pace. Xavi Vierge rounded out the top 10 on his Petronas Sprinta Racing machine as 19 riders finished the two sessions within a second of each other.

The intermediate class will reboot their 2020 campaigns on Friday morning with FP1 at the Gran Premio Red Bull de España at 10:55 local time (GMT+2). Who is going to hit the ground running?

Top 10 combined:
1. Jorge Martin (Red Bull KTM Ajo) – 1:42.346
2. Tom Lüthi (Liqui Moly Intact GP) + 0.076
3. Marco Bezzecchi (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 0.116
4. Luca Marini (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 0.139
5. Sam Lowes (EG 0,0 Marc VDS) + 0.251
6. Enea Bastianini (Italtrans Racing Team) + 0.291
7. Marcel Schrotter (Liqui Moly Intact GP) + 0.316
8. Tetsuta Nagashima (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.323
9. Jorge Navarro (HDR Heidrun Speed Up) + 0.336
10. Xavi Vierge (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.412

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!