Aegerter converts Free Practice pace into first E-Pole

Swiss rider will line-up ahead of reigning Cup winner Ferrari and fellow rookie Tulovic on the front row

Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) converted his Free Practice form into his maiden FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup E-Pole after the Swiss rider beat second fastest Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) by 0.267. Two rookies will line-up on the front row, with Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing) setting a 1:48.525 to sit third.

Track temperatures for the MotoE™ riders sat at a sizzling 60+ degrees on Saturday afternoon as Cup standings leader Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) went in search of his second pole in seven days. After Jakub Kornfeil (WithU Motorsport), Maria Herrera (Openbank Aspar Team) – the Spaniard having her lap time cancelled for exceeding track limits – and Alessandro Zaccone (Trentino Gresini MotoE) had completed their laps, Josh Hook (Octo Pramac MotoE) fired in a low 1:49 so set the other riders which a good benchmark time to beat.

It was a disaster for Tommaso Marcon (Tech3 E-Racing) as the Italian left pitlane too late, seeing the rookie getting a black flag in his second E-Pole session. There were no such errors for Tulovic though as the German slammed in a stunning lap time, his aforementioned 1:48.525 was a tenth faster than Granado’s E-Pole time at the Spanish GP – that time was going to take some beating.

Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) and Alejandro Medina (Openbank Aspar Team) slotted in behind Tulovic’s time, but Ferrari was able to knock Tulovic off his perch to nick provisional pole by a tenth. Then came Granado, could the runaway Spanish GP winner put another chink in his opponents armour by taking pole? The Brazilian had two moments on his flying lap – most notably the back getting squirmy out of Turn 6 – which ultimately cost him pole position as Granado slotted into P3.

Then came Aegerter – and the former Moto2™ winner made no mistakes on his run to grab pole position by over two tenths, demoting Ferrari to second and Granado off the front row. Torres and Medina will start 5th and 6th on the second row, with the experienced Alex de Angelis (Octo Pramac MotoE) heading row three. Casadei, Niccolo Canepa (LCR E-Team) and Hook complete the top 10.

Tune into the second MotoE™ race of 2020 when the electric class kick off race proceedings at 10:05 local time (GMT+2).

Top 10:
1. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) – 1:48.158
2. Matteo Ferrari (Trentino Gresini MotoE) + 0.267
3. Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing) + 0.367
4. Eric Granado (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) + 0.418
5. Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) + 0.585
6. Alejandro Medina (Openbank Aspar Team) + 0.608
7. Alex de Angelis (Octo Pramac MotoE) + 0.705
8. Mattia Casadei (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) + 0.739
9. Niccolo Canepa (LCR E-Team) + 1.048
10. Josh Hook (Octo Pramac MotoE) + 1.097

Click here for the full results!

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!