Fernandez heads Day 1 despite Suzuki topping Moto3™ FP2

The Spaniard kept hold of top spot in San Marino despite last year's winner finding some form in the afternoon sunshine

Raul Fernandez (Red Bull KTM Ajo) tops the Moto3™ timesheets after a strong showing on the opening day of the Gran Premio Lenovo di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini, thanks to a 1:42.501 that he set in FP1 earlier on Friday. Fastest in FP2, meanwhile, was Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse), with the 2019 San Marino GP winner jumping up to third overall as a result.

A strong showing from the Spaniard in FP1 set him up to top the day’s action ahead of Gabriel Rodrigo (Kömmerling Gresini Moto3), who rode strongly in FP1 to end-up second on the timesheets. However, the man who took pole in Styria crashed out of FP2 after tucking the front at the final corner and taking Barry Baltus (CarXpert PruestelGP) down with him, with both riders, fortunately, walking away unhurt.

Suzuki, victor last time out in Misano under the guidance of Paolo Simoncelli, recorded the fastest time in the second free practice session and that sees him ahead of current World Championship leader Albert Arenas (Pull&Bear Aspar Team Moto3).

SKY Racing Team VR46 teammates Andrea Migno and Celestino Vietti complete the top six, with all aforementioned riders within half a second of the lead. Petronas Sprinta Racing’s John McPhee will look to push on following encouraging times today that sees him just ahead of Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3), with both men within a tenth of a second of the top five in sixth and seventh respectively.

Sergio Garcia (Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) round out the top 10, but both riders will have to thread with caution throughout the rest of the weekend after both were penalised for irresponsible riding in FP1 and had to sit out a chunk of FP2.

Combined top 10:
 1. Raul Fernandez (Red Bull KTM Ajo) – 1:42.501
 2. Gabriel Rodrigo (Kömmerling Gresini Moto3) + 0.234
 3. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 0.282
 4. Albert Arenas (Pull&Bear Aspar Team Moto3) + 0.332
 5. Andrea Migno (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 0.383
 6. Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 0.489
 7. John McPhee (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.549
 8. Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 0.566
 9. Sergio Garcia (Estrella Galicia 0,0) + 0.644
 10. Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) + 0.654

Click here for full results!

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!