Migno betters Masia in FP3, Acosta in Q1

A late flurry of times sees the Italian lead the way on home soil after Moto3™ Free Practice, Championship leader Acosta finishes P16

Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) left it until his final flying lap to secure top spot in Moto3™ FP3 at the Gran Premio d’Italia Oakley, the Italian’s 1:56.234 was enough to beat Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) by 0.124s. Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) is safely into Q2 after a P3 finish in FP3, but World Championship leader Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) will have to contest Q1 this afternoon.

The Q2 qualifiers

Most of the riders were able to find some time on Saturday morning, including fourth fastest Sergio Garcia (Valresa GASGAS Aspar Team). The rider second in the overall standings was outside the top 14 heading into FP3, but sails into Q2 ahead of fifth place Jason Dupasquer (CarXpert PrüstelGP). Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) is four tenths away from Migno in P6 as FP2 pacesetter Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) slips to P7 on the combined times after failing to improve his Friday effort.

Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3), Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) and John McPhee (Petronas Sprinta Racing) complete the top 10, with Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team), Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing), Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) and Filip Salac (Rivacold Snipers Team) the other automatic Q2 qualifiers.

Acosta and Antonelli in Q1

Joining Acosta in Q1 will be fifth in the Championship Niccolo Antonelli (Avinita Esponsorama Moto3), as well as Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse). All three riders will be expecting to come through the opening qualifying session later this afternoon.

Tune into Moto3™ qualifying at 12:35 local time (GMT+2).

Top 10 combined:
1. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) – 1:56.234
2. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.124
3. Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.155
4. Sergio Garcia (Valresa GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.246
5. Jason Dupasquier (CarXpert PruestelGP) + 0.378
6. Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.420
7. Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.427
8. Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 0.521
9. Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) + 0.575
10. John McPhee (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.582


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!