Pons capitalises on Granado misfortune for maiden win

The rookie takes a superb victory in Barcelona as the polesitter is forced to start from pitlane; Aegerter and Torres claim podiums

Rookie Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team) produced a fantastic FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup performance at the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya to win in the electric class for the first time by 0.531s. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) claims P2 to get within one point of Cup standings leader Alessandro Zaccone (Octo Pramac MotoE), with reigning World Cup winner Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) occupying the final step on the rostrum.

Early drama for Granado

Before the six-lap race got underway, there was drama for polesitter Eric Granado (One Energy Racing). The Brazilian encountered an issue just before the race got underway, which caused the start to be delayed as Granado was wheeled off the grid, luckless for the title hopeful.

An epic six-lap dash

After a brief stoppage, the lights went out and we were underway in Barcelona. Aegerter grabbed the holeshot as a fierce MotoE™ scrap prevailed, with Pons lunging up the inside at Turn 10 to slot into second. Like we’ve seen across the classes this weekend, it was slipstream city down the long home straight as the lead changed down into Turn 1 plenty of times. Zaccone led, then Aegerter returned to the front before Pons eventually took the lead into the first left-hander on the penultimate lap.

Looking strong, Pons was able to edge out a 0.3s lead – not a lot, but enough – heading onto the last lap, and importantly held off Aegerter in the slipstream. Having lapped a second a lap quicker than the leaders when fighting his way back from pitlane, Granado crashed out of contention at Turn 4. The top eight were covered by just 1.8s on the final lap but Pons remained 0.3s ahead, as attentions turned to the last real overtaking spot: Turn 10.

However, after Mattia Casadei’s (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) crash there at the penultimate lap, the yellow flags were waving. That meant no overtaking, which scampered Torres’ chances of a move up the inside of Aegerter on the last lap. Pons made no mistake in the final sector and crossed the line to take a maiden MotoE™ victory, Aegerter and Torres pick up their second podiums of the year.

What happened elsewhere?

World Cup leader Zaccone took the chequered flag in P4 to keep his advantage over Aegerter intact, but it’s just a point splitting them in the overall standings. Yonny Hernandez (Octo Pramac MotoE) ended the six-lap dash in P5, that’s the Colombian’s best result of the season.

16-year-old Fermin Aldeguer (Openbank Aspar Team) took 6th just 1.7s off the win, the Spaniard was promoted one place after Matteo Ferrari (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE) exceeded track limits on the last lap. Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing), Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE) and Corentin Perolari (Tech3 E-Racing) completed the top 10 at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Xavi Cardelus (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) and Jasper Iwema (Pons Racing 40) crashed out unhurt.

Yet another terrific MotoE™ race passes us by, with a new winner born. Pons is up to fourth in the overall classification, 18 points behind Zaccone, with Torres 11 off the leader. It’s all set up nicely ahead of Assen!

Top 10:
1. Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team)
2. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) + 0.531
3. Jordi Torres (Pons Racing 40) + 0.577
4. Alessandro Zaccone (Octo Pramac MotoE) + 1.121
5. Yonny Hernandez (Octo Pramac MotoE) + 1.151
6. Fermin Aldeguer (Openbank Aspar Team) + 1.790
7. Matteo Ferrari (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE) + 1.764*
8. Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing) + 2.352
9. Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE) + 3.214
10. Corentin Perolari (Tech3 E-Racing) + 5.160


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!