Torres claims first blood in Misano thriller

The Spaniard moves to the top of the standings after a disastrous race for Eric Granado

The FIM Enel MotoE™ World Cup riders kicked off their season finale with the first of two races at Misano, both of which are decisive in the title race. The Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli saw Jordi Torres (HP Pons 40) take a big step towards glory as he left Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP) and Mattia Casadei (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) in his wake.

A four-way fight

Torres made a great start which saw him and Mattia Casadei, Dominique Aegerter and Eric Granado (One Energy Racing) open up a slight advantage of just over a second over Matteo Ferrari (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE). The four leading riders were the ones to watch all afternoon, as none of them wanted to give up ground in a fight that would goa ll the way to the bitter end. However, disaster struck for Granado in the race finale, the Brazilian crashed out just as he nudged himself in front of Torres.

Zaccone, crash at the most inopportune moment

Alessandro Zaccone (Octo Pramac MotoE) was another of the favourites who lady luck had deserted. The former Cup leader was involved in a messy incident with Hikari Okubo (Avant Ajo MotoE) on the first lap, which resulted in the Italian being stretchered off the track and taken to the medical centre. Zaccone was out of the race, and most likely, out of the running for the title.  

The rest of the top 10

With Casadei in fourth, fifth place went to Ferrari, followed by rookie Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team). The final positions in the Top 10 went to Kevin Zannoni (LCR E-Team), Fermín Aldeguer (OpenBank Aspar Team), Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing), Yonny Hernández (Octo Pramac MotoE) and Andorra's Xavi Cardelús (Avintia Esponsorama Racing).

How does the MotoE™ standings look?

After the 0 point return for Zaccone and Granado, relegated to third and fourth overall respectively, it is now Torres who leads the standings with one race to go. The Spaniard holds a slender eight point advantage over Aegerter.

One of these 4 riders will be crowned FIM Enel MotoE™ 2021 World Cup Champion tomorrow, who will it be? Don't miss the second race at Misano on Sunday at 15:30 local time.

Top 10:

1Jordi Torres  (HP Pons 40)
2. Dominique Aegerter (Dynavolt Intact GP)  + 0.160
3. Mattia Casadei (Ongetta SIC58 Squadracorse) + 0.405
4. Matteo Ferrari (Indonesian E-Racing Gresini MotoE) + 2.786
5. Miquel Pons (LCR E-Team)  +  3.072
6. Kevin Zannoni (LCR E-Team) + 3.095
7. Fermín Aldeguer (OpenBank Aspar Team) + 3.621
8. Yonny Hernández (Octo Pramac MotoE) + 10.482
9. Lukas Tulovic (Tech3 E-Racing) + 10.598
10. Xavi Cardelús (Avintia Esponsorama Racing) + 10.905


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!