Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase
21 days ago

Midday Day 1: HRC 2022 bike seen, Aprilia debut new aero

Only eight riders have been out so far as conditions haven’t played ball; Bradl riding a 2022-spec RC213V, Aprilia debut new wings

After overnight rain it’s been a damp start to proceedings at the 2021 Official Misano MotoGP™ Test, with mixed track conditions making it difficult for the riders to get some worthwhile running under their belts. So far, as of 13:00 local time (GMT+2), Johann Zarco (Pramac Racing) is fastest with a 1:33.895.

HRC test rider Stefan Bradl was the first to venture out on Day 1, the German riding a new-look 2022-spec RC213V. One of these bikes has been spotted in Marc Marquez’ Repsol Honda Team garage, but the eight-time World Champion is yet to head out on track. Teammate Pol Espargaro was the first rider to lap on slick tyres at the Misano Test, the Spaniard completing just two laps though.

Aprilia Racing Team Gresini’s Maverick Viñales and Lorenzo Savadori were also on track early doors, both riders sporting some new 2022 aero wings that are smaller than the 2021 package. However, it is understood that the current wings are too big, making it tough in the fast corners. Viñales also suffered an issue with his engine sensor in the morning with his RS-GP.


World Championship leader Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) decided to get some wet weather laps in the pocket during the morning, the Frenchman was riding his 2021 machine but has a new chassis to test in his box.

The conditions have started to improve, so hopefully there will be plenty of running after lunch. Make sure you stay tuned to for highlights, interviews, a report and more at the end of Day 1 at Misano.

Times as of 13:00 local time:
1. Johann Zarco (Pramac Racing) – 1:33.895
2. Stefan Bradl (Team Honda HRC) + 0.385
3. Dani Pedrosa (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) + 1.598
4. Pol Espargaro (Repsol Honda Team) + 4.126
5. Lorenzo Savadori (Aprilia Factory Racing) + 5.118
6. Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 11.853
7. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 13.560
8. Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) + 14.669