Guevara breaks the lap record in FP3

The Aspar rider is clearly the favourite ahead of qualifying for the lightweight class in Germany

GASGAS Aspar Team’s Izan Guevara has established himself as the man to beat after the completion of the third and final Free Practice session for the Moto3™ field at the Liqui Moly Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland. The last-start race winner has been superb on long run pace so far this weekend at the Sachsenring, but he has also been rapid in time attack mode. In fact, Guevara is now the fastest rider to lap the German circuit on a Moto3™ bike, having clocked a 1:25.925 in the final 10 minutes of FP3.

The Spaniard also set a 1:26.013 immediately after, meaning he can boast the fastest two laps of the weekend so far, while it is Ayumu Sasaki who is now second-best. The Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max pilot, who returns from injury after two races out of action, achieved a 1:26.101 just past the halfway mark in FP3, while David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports) took third on a 1:26.310 in the final, time attack phase of the session. Rounding out the combined top five are Scott Ogden (VisionTrack Racing Team) on a 1:26.314 and Friday fast man Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing), who got stuck in traffic on Saturday morning but could still rely on his 1:26.363 from the afternoon before.

World Championship leader Sergio Garcia (GASGAS Aspar Team) followed Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) around the Sachsenring to book his place in Q2 with a 1:26.402 which was good enough for sixth, while Foggia himself took ninth with a 1:26.512. Between them on the timesheet are Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets - MSI) and John McPhee (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max), with the top 10 rounded out by Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo). Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) advanced to Q2 in 12th despite a late crash, but Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) got stuck outside the cut-off when Carlos Tatay (CFMoto Racing PruestelGP) pipped him to 14th by 0.003 seconds with the chequered flag having long been unfurled.

Can Öncü join the fight for pole, and will anyone have a serious challenge for Guevara? Make sure you tune in when Q1 starts later on Saturday at 12:35 (GMT +2).

Moto3™ Top 10:

1. Izan Guevara (GASGAS Aspar Team) – 1:25.925
2. Ayumu Sasaki (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) + 0.176
3. David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports) + 0.385
4. Scott Ogden (VisionTrack Racing Team) + 0.389
5. Tatsuki Suzuki (Leopard Racing) + 0.438
6. Sergio Garcia (GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.477
7. Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets - MSI) + 0.485
8. John McPhee (Sterilgarda Husqvarna Max) + 0.521
9. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) + 0.587
10. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.622


VideoPass allows you to watch every single second of every single sector LIVE and OnDemand