Bezzecchi draws first blood at new MotoGP™ battleground

It's advantage Bezz as the Italian took first honours following MotoGP™'s debut at the Buddh International Circuit

History was made as the green flag dropped on Free Practice 1 and MotoGP™ got its first taste of the Buddh International Circuit. Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) took like a duck to water at the IndianOil Grand Prix of India as the Spaniard set the benchmark for the weekend with a 1:45.990. The Italian found an incredible chunk of time in the final sector to put himself +0.139s of Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team). The Spaniard jumped up to P2 in the closing stages with a late charge from himself and Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) deciding the top three at the chequered flag. 

Raul Fernandez (CryptoDATA RNF MotoGP™) was another who shot up the order at the end. The young Spaniard took 4th place to kickstart his weekend. Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) slotted in behind Fernandez as the 2nd fastest Aprilia in P5, ahead of Johann Zarco who took P6. Luca Marini (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) also showed strong pace at the Indian circuit, and after a convincing run of laps, the Italian bagged P7. 

Fresh from taking full points on his title rival's home turf, Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing) came out of the blocks guns blazing as he kept himself consistently in the top positions. Time attacks came in left, right, and centre however and the Spaniard was bumped down the order in the final minutes to finish in P8. The Pramac man will be happy to be ahead of Championship leader Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) however, as the Champ finds himself a second off the pace in P15. 

Practice 2 for MotoGP™ commences at 15:30 local time (GMT +5:30) so make sure not to miss any of the action on! 

Top 10

1 Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) 1:45.990
2 Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) +0.139
3 Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) +0.320
4 Raul Fernandez (CryptoDATA RNF MotoGP Team) +0.381
5 Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) +0.488
6 Johann Zarco (Prima Pramac Racing) +0.586
7 Luca Marini (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) +0.619
8 Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing) +0.620
9 Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) +0.788
10 Joan Mir (Repsol Honda Team) +0.815


Follow the entire 2023 Season LIVE & VOD with VideoPass!