Masia motors to wet-weather pole with Holgado failing to make Q2

The Spaniard put together an absolute wet-weather masterclass, destroying the field by seven tenths!

Saturday at the IndianOil Grand Prix of India saw torrential conditions delay proceedings ahead of Moto3™ Q2. Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) excelled in the rain as the action got underway at the Buddh International Circuit. The Spaniard put on a dominant display as he got to grips with the conditions to set the fastest lap of the session on his final tour with a 2:09.336. Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team) bagged 2nd place 0.727s back from the polesitter with Ayumu Sasaki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) taking a much-welcomed front row. It wasn't a great day in the office for Daniel Holgado (Red Bull KTM Tech3) as the Championship Leader failed to fight his way through Q1 and will have to start the Grand Prix of India from P19.

On the second row, it was Scott Ogden (VisionTrack Racing) who snatched the front spot after an impressive display, with Kaito Toba (SIC58 Squadra Corse) and Diogo Moreira (MT Helmets - MSI) joining him in 5th and 6th. Stefano Nepa (Angeluss MTA Team) had a decent wet-weather showing and snapped up P7. Joining the Italian on the third row will be Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) and Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) in 8th and 9th, with David Salvador (CIP Green Power) rounding out the top 10.

The Moto3™ riders' attention now turns to the race on Sunday, make sure not to miss any of the action as it commences at 12:30 local time (GMT +5:30).

Top 10

1 Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) 2:09.336
2 Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team) +0.727
3 Ayumu Sasaki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) +0.768
4 Scott Ogden (VisionTrack Racing Team) +0.790
5 Kaito Toba (SIC58 Squadra Corse) +1.399
6 Diogo Moreira (MT Helmets – MSI) +1.447
7 Stefano Nepa (Angeluss MTA Team) +1.516
8 Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) +1.531
9 Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) +1.632
10 David Salvador (CIP Green Power) +1.682


Follow the entire 2023 Season LIVE & VOD with VideoPass!