Dream home qualifying session for Idemitsu Honda Team Asia

Chantra and Ogura lead the way with a Honda one-two, while Dixon makes it onto the front row from Q1

Somkiat Chantra (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) has dominated Moto2™ at the Motul Grand Prix of Japan so far and Qualifying was no exception. Not content with simply claiming pole position, the Thai rider also broke the seven-year-old lap record previously set by Johann Zarco with a lap time of 1:49.898.

Just a shade slower, he was followed by Ai Ogura to complete a dream home start for Idemitsu Honda Team Asia in the intermediate class at Mobility Resort Motegi.

Completing the front row is Jake Dixon (GASGAS Aspar Team), who put in a fantastic lap on his Triumph-powered machine following a shaky start to the Japanese Grand Prix.

The Brit’s place in Qualifying Nr. 2 was never a sure thing. After a nervy few minutes at the end of Q1, Dixon managed to maintain his 100% participation record in Q2 this season by finishing fourth in the first session. He was joined by Darryn Binder (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP), Zonta Van Den Goorbergh (Fieton Olie Racing GP) and Alonso López (Beta Tools SpeedUp) in Q2.

Two tenths of a second behind the polesitter, current Moto2™ Championship leader Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) found himself pushed to the second row, finishing in fourth. The Spaniard will however be relieved to sit above his closest rival, Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) who struggled from the beginning and will start Sunday's race from 13th on the grid.

The Moto2™ action gets underway at 13:15 (GMT+9), so make sure you tune in to see how the Motul Grand Prix of Japan concludes in the intermediate class.

Top 10:

1 Somkiat Chantra (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) 1:49.898
2 Ai Ogura (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) +0.120
3 Jake Dixon (Inde GASGAS Aspar Team) +0.160
4 Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.233
5 Filip Salac (Gresini Racing Moto2™) +0.240
6 Alonso Lopez (Beta Tools SpeedUp) +0.252
7 Aron Canet (Pons Wegow Los40) +0.294
8 Sam Lowes (ELF Marc VDS Racing Team) +0.339
9 Fermin Aldeguer (Beta Tools SpeedUp) +0.464
10 Manuel Gonzalez (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team) +0.613



Follow the entire 2023 Season LIVE & VOD with VideoPass!