Zarco steals the show from Di Giannantonio with Bagnaia P13

A last-minute attack saw the Frenchman snatch the top spot ahead of Di Giannantonio, Martin inside top three

The 2023 MotoGP™ World Championship decider got underway as the grid hit the track at the Circuit Riccardo Tormo Circuit to kick off the weekend's action at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana. It was Johann Zarco (Prima Pramac Racing) who drew first blood in his final weekend racing for Prima Pramac Racing, as his 1:30.191 saw the Frenchman take the top spot by 0.187s at the sight of the chequered flag. The Qatar Grand Prix victor Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) joined him at the sharp end after the Italian led the way in the closing stages to be denied the top spot right at the end. The battle everyone has their eyes on is #PECCOvsMARTIN though and it was Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing) who started the stronger in Free Practice 1 - the Spaniard claimed P3 with title rival Francesco Bagnaia (Ducati Lenovo Team) 0.778s off the pace in P13.

Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) started strong in Valencia and finished just 0.040s away from the top three. The Italian took 4th place ahead of Maverick Viñales  (Aprilia Racing) in 5th and Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™) in 6th.  Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) was next up in P7 as he finished just 0.003s ahead of his compatriot Augusto Fernandez (GASGAS Factory Racing Tech3) who had a positive Day 1 in 8th. Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo Team) and Alex Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) rounded out the top 10.   

There are Q2 spots up for grabs later on as Practice for MotoGP™ is set to commence at 15:00 local time (GMT +1). Make sure you don’t miss a second of the action from the decider on!

Top 10

1 Johann Zarco (Prima Pramac Racing) 1:30.191
2 Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) +0.187
3 Jorge Martin (Prima Pramac Racing) +0.259
4 Marco Bezzecchi (Mooney VR46 Racing Team) +0.299
5 Maverick Viñales (Aprilia Racing) +0.343
6 Fabio Quartararo (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP™) +0.365
7 Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) +0.373
8 Augusto Fernandez (GASGAS Factory Racing Tech3) +0.376
9 Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo Team) +0.620
10 Alex Marquez (Gresini Racing MotoGP™) +0.666


Follow the entire 2023 Season LIVE & VOD with VideoPass!

#ValenciaGP for just €10

Watch all the #ValenciaGP action and follow every session for just €10 on VideoPass & TimingPass

Don't miss it!