Casadei wins race simulation as MotoE™ Portimao Test ends

The reigning Champion took the plaudits as three days of testing in Portugal finishes with Garzo setting the fastest time

And just like that, the curtain has been drawn on three days of pre-season testing in Portimao for the 2024 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Championship grid as the final day sees reigning World Champion Mattia Casadei (LCR E-Team) win a race simulation. However, Hector Garzo’s (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) 1:46.916 from Day 2 stands as the fastest time heading into Round 1.

Wednesday’s pre-season opener at the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve was the only fully dry day of the week, with rain curtailing some test plans on both Thursday and Friday. That hasn’t stopped the field from getting plenty of running in though – including some valuable time on a damp track – as an intense three-day schedule played out, with Friday seeing the riders take part in a seven-lap race simulation.

Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) and Kevin Manfredi (Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse) completed the top three in that race sim, with the likes of Nicolas Spinelli (Tech3 E-Racing) – the Day 1 pacesetter – and Garzo – the Day 2 table topper – crashing out.

However, it’s Garzo who boasts the fastest lap of the test, with no one able to beat his marker on Friday. The top three all posted their best laps on the second day of testing, with Spinelli and Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE™) P2 and P3 respectively. And it’s tight, with less than three tenths splitting the top trio, but Garzo is the only rider to dip below the 1:47 barrier.

With pre-season testing now concluded, the MotoE™ teams and riders now set their sights on the season opener in Portimao. The times are tight heading into 2024 as we get set for another sensational season of racing. 

Top 10 (combined): 

1 Hector Garzo (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™)  1:46.916
2 Nicolas Spinelli (Tech3 E-Racing) + 0.120
3 Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE™) + 0.170
4 Mattia Casadei (LCR E-Team) + 0.315
5 Oscar Gutierrez (Axxis-MSI) + 0.318
6 Alessandro Zaccone (Tech3 E-Racing) + 0.378
7 Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) + 0.397
8 Kevin Zannoni (Openbank Aspar Team)  + 0.480
9 Lukas Tulovic (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) + 0.491
10 Miquel Pons (Axxis-MSI)  + 0.595