Granado grabs pole in Portugal ahead of Spinelli and Casadei

The Brazilian will start the opening races of the season from pole, with Ferrari facing a fight back from P11

Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) will start the first races of the 2024 FIM Enel MotoE™ World Championship season from pole position after storming back to the top in qualifying at the Grande Premio Tissot de Portugal. The Brazilian showed his hand to deny Nicholas Spinelli (Tech3 E-Racing) by just 0.067, with reigning Champion Mattia Casadei (LCR E-Team) forced to settle for third on the grid for the first two races of 2024. Some fellow big names have a little more work to do on Saturday, with 2023 MotoE runner-up Jordi Torres (Openbank Aspar Team) starting from seventh and Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE) down in 11th.

In Q1,  Ferrari was just edged out as Miquel Pons (Axxis-MSI) and the returning Lukas Tulovic (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) moved through in a tight field. However, once Q2 got underway it was all change again, and it went to the wire. Both Spinelli and Casadei looked to be challenging Granado, but the final sector saw it fade away and the Brazilian takes that coveted first pole of the season.

A strong showing from Hector Garzo (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) puts him at the head of the second row, ahead of Alessandro Zaccone (Tech3 E-Team) by just 0.012. Rookie Oscar Gutierrez (Axxis-MSI), who did two rounds last season but two rounds only, impressed to complete the top six.

Torres takes P7 ahead of Tulovic, who is racing on the Ducati V21L for the first time, with Kevin Zannoni completing an Openbank Aspar Team sandwich around Tulovic on Row 3. Aiming to immediately join that party if not even further forward once the lights go out, Ferrari sees lights out from P11.

Check out the full results below and make sure to tune in for Race 1 at 12:15, before the second serving of electric action at 16:10 (UTC)!

Top 10:

1 Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) 1:46.470
2 Nicholas Spinelli (Tech3 E-Racing) +0.067
3 Mattia Casadei (LCR E-Team) +0.116
4 Hector Garzo (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE) +0.293
5 Alessandro Zaccone (Tech3 E-Racing) +0.305
6 Oscar Gutierrez (Axxis-MSI) +0.320
7 Jordi Torres (Openbank Aspar Team) +0.563
8 Lukas Tulovic (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE) +0.739
9 Kevin Zannoni (Openbank Aspar Team) +0.937
10 Miquel Pons (Axxis-MSI) +0.959