Kelso sets a sensational pace ahead of qualifying

The Australian was hot on the pace ahead of Alonso and Rueda as tension builds towards qualifying in Portimao

It was overcast conditions for the Moto3™ field, in a vital session to decide the riders who would go to Q2. The riders waited until the final 10 minutes to complete their time attacks with Joel Kelso being the quickest, setting a sensational 1:47.175. The Australian was ahead of David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team) looks to be his challenger for qualifying. Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) rounds out the top three in the combined standings after the Spaniard showed brilliant pace - continuing to build throughout the weekend.

Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) ends the session, just half a second from the top spot and finishes as the highest-placed Honda in fourth. Riccardo Rossi (CIP Green Power) was in fifth, ahead of MLav Racing’s Scott Ogden who set his time in the closing moments of the session. Joel Esteban places the second CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team machine in seventh, ahead of rookie Jacob Roulstone on the top Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 bike. Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team) was a further 0.026 behind, not improving on his time from Friday. He was ahead of Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets – MSI) who rounded out the top 10 in the combined standings.

Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) was 11th (falling at turn 13 early on), ending the session ahead of BOE Motorsports’ David Muñoz, in 12th (who started Saturday outside of the top 14). Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) ended the session in 13, ahead of Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP – MTA) who rounded out the riders who will go straight to Q2 later on. Q1 is already looking to be exciting with Filippo Farioli (SIC58 Squadra Corse), Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing), and Red Bull KTM Ajo's Vicente Perez all forced to fight their way into Q2 from Q1.

The next time Moto3™ will be back in battle is for an unpredictable qualifying at 12:50 (UTC), make sure you don’t miss it on!

Combined top 10:

1 Joel Kelso (BOE Motorsports) 1:47.175
2 David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team)  +0.027
3 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.147
4 Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) +0.508
5 Riccardo Rossi (CIP Green Power) +0.515
6 Scott Ogden (MLav Racing) +0.578
7 Joel Esteban (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team)  +0.664
8 Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) +0.680
9 Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team) +0.706
10 Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets - MSI) +0.763