Aldeguer obliterates lap record ahead of Garcia

The Spaniard ended the Practice 1 with a new lap record and ahead of Garcia and Foggia

After a rollercoaster season so far, pre-season favourite Fermin Aldeguer (Beta Tools SpeedUp) put in another statement Friday at the Red Bull Grand Prix of the Americas as he looks for that elusive first win, or even podium, of the year. Setting an unbelievable 2:08.359, he destroyed the lap record by 0.392. The Spaniard ended a fantastic session ahead of MT – Helmets MSI’s Sergio Garcia, who was 0.282 behind but also under the previous lap record. Dennis Foggia put in a great day for the Italtrans Racing Team in third, also spending most of the session inside the top five.

Riders were pushing from the start of the session, with Manuel Gonzalez (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™) becoming the first rider to go over the limit, taking a tumble at Turn 8, rider ok. Later on in the session, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Deniz Öncü crashed with 30 minutes left on the clock, rider also ok.

In fourth was Marcos Ramirez, ending the day as the top OnlyFans American Racing Team rider, with Jake Dixon (CFMOTO Asterius Aspar Team) rounding out the top five as he gets back in action in Austin. Barry Baltus (RW-Idrofoglia Racing GP) already a podium finisher this year, ended Practice 1 in sixth ahead of Celestino Vietti (Red Bull KTM Ajo), with Alonso Lopez on the second Beta Tools SpeedUp forced to settle for eighth.

Ai Ogura (MT – Helmets MSI) was in ninth as the chequered flag flew, ahead of Fanatic Racing’s Aron Canet, who also suffered a crash in the last three minutes. Jeremy Alcoba (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team) was 0.773 from the top spot, ahead of Filip Salac (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) and Bo Bendsneyder (Pertamina Mandalika GAS UP Team). Joe Roberts (OnlyFans American Racing Team) was the final rider who will provisionally head to Q2 on Saturday after making a mistake on his quickest lap.

The Moto2™ field will have one more opportunity to fight for a spot inside the top 14 at 9:25 local time (UTC -5) before qualifying begins at 13:45 (local time).

Top 10:

1 Fermin Aldeguer (Beta Tools SpeedUp) 2:08.359
2 Sergio Garcia (MT Helmets - MSI) +0.282
3 Dennis Foggia (Italtrans Racing Team) +0.370
4 Marcos Ramirez (OnlyFans American Racing Team) +0.424
5 Jake Dixon (CFMOTO Asterius Aspar Team)  +0.506
6 Barry Baltus (RW-Idrofoglia Racing GP)  +0.535
7 Celestino Vietti (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.647
8 Alonso Lopez (Beta Tools SpeedUp)  +0.685
9 Ai Ogura (MT – Helmets MSI)  +0.708
10 Aron Canet (Fantic Racing) +0.768