Alonso astonishes and ends Friday fastest

The Colombian ends Friday inside the 2:15 bracket and ahead of Rueda and Piqueras

Lunch break was over, and the Moto3™ field left the pitlane to fight for their provisional spot inside Q2. David Alonso (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) jumped to the top spot at the end of Friday, setting 14 laps in Practice 1 to hammer home his performance from Free Practice after he'd also started the day fastest. The Colombian's 2:15.173 in the afternoon saw him edge out Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Jose Antonio Rueda, with Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing) slotting into third after having been passed fit to ride.

It was a dramatic session, not least for the MT Helmets – MSI team, with Ryusei Yamanaka losing the front at turn 11, collecting teammate Ivan Ortola in the first 20 minutes, riders ok. Tatchakorn Buasri (Honda Team Asia) and Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) also crashed later in the afternoon, and the Thai rider will also need to have a medical review before being allowed back out.

Meanwhile, in the fight for the top, Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3)'s name was missing until late on. The Championship leader was outside the top 14 with 10 minutes left on the clock but put in a sensational lap to place fourth by the end of play, with Ortola also bouncing back after a difficult Friday, ending Practice 1 in a remarkable fifth ahead of BOE Motorsports’ Joel Kelso as the Australian jumped from 17th to sixth in the last three minutes. Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) was top rookie in P7, ahead of David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports) in eighth, after both riders also made contact at the start of the session.

Taiyo Furusato ends a successful Friday in ninth as he looks to find more Qatar form, ahead of LEVELUP – MTA’s Stefano Nepa, who rounded out the top 10. Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team), Yamanaka, Scott Ogden (MLav Racing) and David Almansa (Rivacold Snipers Team) round out the provisional Q2 spots.

Moto3™ will be back on track on Saturday morning at 8:40 local time (UTC -5), where riders will fight for the top 14 positions in Practice 2 before qualifying begins at 12:50 local time.

Top 10:

1 David Alonso (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) 2:15.173
2 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.157
3 Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing) +0.317
4 Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3)  +0.394
5 Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets - MSI) +0.433
6 Joel Kelso (BOE Motorsports) +0.594
7 Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3)  +0.814
8 David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports)  +0.814
9 Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) +0.919
10 Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP - MTA) +0.962