Clean sweep for Alonso ahead of qualifying

The Colombian destroyed the lap record on Saturday morning ahead of Kelso and Ortola who set identical times

The Moto3™ grid left pitlane to start the action on Saturday, with their last chance to fight for a spot in Q2. David Alonso (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) destroyed the lap record after setting an extraordinary 2:14.153, improving on Friday’s time by over a second. It was a nail-biting final five minutes, with Joel Kelso (BOE Motorsports) ending the session in second – just 0.384 from the top spot. MT Helmets – MSI’s Ivan Ortola bounced back after a tough Friday, setting an identical time to the Australian, in a fiercely competitive session for the Spaniard.

Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) sneaked safely inside the top 14 on the Championship leader’s final lap of the session. Holgado ends the session ahead of David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports), who rounded out the top five after another late improving lap. Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing) was sixth ahead of Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Jose Antonio Rueda, who has spent most of the weekend inside the top five. Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) also earned direct entry to Q2 for the first time this year, finishing the session in eighth.

Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team) was ahead of Honda Team Asia’s Taiyo Furusato, who rounded out the top 10. Filippo Farioli (SIC58 Squadra Corse) was 11th, ahead of MLav Racing’s Scott Ogden in 12th, with both riders improving on their 11th and final lap of the session. Taking the final spots inside Q2 later on were Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) in 13th and Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP – MTA).

Some big hitters now have to go through Q1, including Leopard Racing’s Adrian Fernandez, who missed out by 0.088. Joel Esteban (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) and Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) will join Fernandez in Q1 on their first visit to Austin.

The Moto3™ field will now prepare for qualifying, which will kick off at 12:50 local time (UTC -5), so make sure you don’t miss a second of the action on!

Combined top 10:

1 David Alonso (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) 2:14.153
2 Joel Kelso (BOE Motorsports) +0.384
3 Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets - MSI) +0.384
4 Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3)  +0.430
5 David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports)  +0.441
6 Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing) +0.560
7 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.567
8 Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) +0.613
9 Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team) +0.730
10 Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) +0.788