Aldeguer wins in Spain as Roberts charges to second

The Spaniard was unstoppable in Jerez ahead of Roberts who took a historic Championship lead ending the race ahead of Gonzalez in third

The Moto2™ field treated fans around the globe to a thriller at the Gran Premio Estrella Galicia 0,0 de España, with Fermin Aldeguer (Beta Tools SpeedUp) winning in style in Spain. Aldeguer battled hard in the opening stages of the race to finish ahead of Joe Roberts (OnlyFans American Racing Team) in second, who crossed the line to become the first American to lead a Grand Prix World Championship since Nicky Hayden in 2006 - currently leading with 69 points to his name. Storming to third position was Manuel Gonzalez (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™), who put everything on the line to claim a second podium of the season.

Tension was high, and once the lights went out, Gonzalez pounced to steal the lead, setting the fastest lap early on and holding off Aldeguer on the opening lap. Americas GP winner Sergio Garcia (MT Helmets - MSI) also had a strong start and tried to put pressure on Aldeguer.

It was a dramatic start of the race further down the field for Senna Agius (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP), who collided with the back wheel of Zonta Van Den Goorbergh (RW-Idrofoglia Racing GP), who would be handed a LLP for irresponsible riding. Turn 13 claimed a handful of victims in the opening stages of the race, including Bo Bendsneyder (Pertamina Mandalika GAS UP Team), Xavier Artigas (KLINT Forward Factory Team), and Dennis Foggia (Italtrans Racing Team).

As the race progressed there were fireworks at the front of the field, with Aldeguer executing a heroic overtake on lap four, only to be met with Gonzalez’s response to fight back. However, once Aldeguer had a clear track in the third sector, the #54 began to build a comfortable gap.

Roberts was the rider with the pace in the middle stage of the race, stealing the fastest lap after setting a 1:41.020 on lap 10. The American soon pulled off an unbelievable move to steal a third position from Garcia, who had no response as Roberts continued to lap in the low 1:41 bracket. However, at the other side of the OnlyFans American Racing Team’s pitbox, Marcos Ramirez crashed on lap 17 while battling for fifth place.

Alonso Lopez (Beta Tools SpeedUp) also crashed out at the final corner after spending most of the race battling on the verge of the top five. Lopez would retire from the race, taking a huge blow to his title charge.

On the final lap of the race, all eyes were on Aldeguer, who continued to lead after an unstoppable performance - celebrating with the crowd throughout the last lap. However, the battle for second continued, with Roberts now ahead of Gonzalez in second, putting an end to the crowd's hopes of a Spanish one-two. Aldeguer took the honours across the line to finish over one second ahead of Roberts, who finished second, claiming a second consecutive podium ahead of Gonzalez.

Further down the order, Garcia held onto fourth – losing time in the latter stages of the race. The #3 was ahead of Albert Arenas, who capped off a great weekend for the QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™ squad. Ai Ogura (MT Helmets – MSI) was sixth, ending the Spanish GP with a solid point-scoring finish, ahead of Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team), who claimed his best finish of the season so far in seventh. Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team’s Jeremey Alcoba was eighth a further 0.143 after a tense battle against the #14. Celestino Vietti (Red Bull KTM Ajo) was ninth ahead of Somkiat Chantra (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia), who rounded out the top 10.

Next up is Le Mans in two weeks where Aldeguer will aim to steal the Championship lead from Roberts with everything still to play for, so make sure you keep up to date on!

Top 10:

1 Fermin Aldeguer (Beta Tools SpeedUp)  
2 Joe Roberts (OnlyFans American Racing Team) +1.287
3 Manuel Gonzalez (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™) +1.568
4 Sergio Garcia (MT Helmets – MSI) +6.226
5 Albert Arenas (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™)  +8.059
6 Ai Ogura (MT Helmets – MSI) +12.490
7 Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) +13.346
8 Jeremy Alcoba (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team) +13.489
9 Celestino Vietti (Red Bull KTM Ajo)  +14.508
10 Somkiat Chantra (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia) +19.693




25% OFF

Tune in for the rest of 2024 with MotoGP™ VideoPass and enjoy every second of every round

Subscribe Now!