Ogura charges to victory as Aldeguer crashes from the lead

After qualifying 10th on the grid the #79 took victory in Barcelona ahead of Garcia and Dixon after an unbelievable race in Barcelona

After an explosive Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya, Ai Ogura (MT Helmets – MSI) leaves Barcelona victorious after a perfect ride in tricky conditions from 10th on the grid. Ogura charged through the field on the first lap of the Grand Prix and was able to save his tyre to take his first victory since 2022. Ogura finished ahead of his teammate Sergio Garcia, making it an MT Helmets – MSI one-two. Jake Dixon (CFMOTO Inde Aspar Team) took the final spot on the podium after a sensational ride in the closing laps.

Once the lights went out it was a dramatic start with Garcia converting his pole position into a race lead at turn 1, with teammate Ogura rocketing from 10th on the first lap after taking a different line on the run to the first corner.

Izan Guevara (CFMOTO Inde Aspar Team) and IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia's Somkiat Chantra became the first crashes of the race, with their races coming to an end at the opening corner. Later on, on the first lap, Ayumu Sasaki (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team) crashed out of the Catalan GP before Diogo Moreira (Italtrans Racing Team) and Daniel Muñoz (Pertamina Mandalika GAS UP Team) faced the same fate one lap later.

It did not take Fermin Aldeguer (MB Conveyors SpeedUp) long to steal the race lead with the #54 pulling off an impressive move at turn 10 on lap three of the Grand Prix. Aldeguer put the hammer down and instantly stretched his lead to one second early on – showing confidence in his strategy.

At the front, it looked to be a Kalex vs Boscoscuro battle with Aldeguer leading Garcia, with their teammate Alonso Lopez (MB Conveyors SpeedUp) and Ogura battling for the final spot on the podium. Aron Canet (Fantic Racing) was charging hard and with Lopez soon dropping to fourth it gave the perfect invitation for the #44 to attack.

However, everything changed when Aldeguer was handed a long lap for exceeding track with the #54 losing the front and crashing out on the entry to the long lap loop. Moments later Canet soon became the victim of turn 5 – crashing out of the race. Amidst the drama, Garcia was promoted to the lead with Ogura catching and soon passing his teammate on lap 18. Dixon also found a way through on Lopez for third with the #21 struggling to find pace.

All of this drama allowed Ogura to storm to an incredible victory in Barcelona after a fantastic performance, finishing ahead of his teammate in a brilliant result for the MT Helmets squad. Dixon was a further five seconds behind and was delighted with his first podium of the season.

Taking a remarkable fourth was Jeremy Alcoba (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team), who found a way through on Lopez in the closing laps to finish ahead of Senna Agius (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP), who rounded out the top five after serving a long lap. Albert Arenas (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™) finished in sixth after a strong end to the race to finish in front of Lopez who dropped to eighth at the line after the Spaniard struggled with his tyres in the closing stages of the race.

Meanwhile, it was damage limitation for Roberts after the American was promoted to eighth in the results after finishing in 11th on the track. This was due to Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) being dropped one position after the race and Zonta Van Den Goorbergh (RW-Idrofoglia Racing GP) dropping two positions after the race due to not serving his long lap. Marcos Ramirez (OnlyFans American Racing team) was disqualified from the Grand Prix after the #24 used a tyre which was allocated to teammate Roberts.

Behind Roberts was Arbolino in ninth place, who took a solid points scoring finish in Barcelona. Also capitalising on the race's outcome was Jorge Navarro (KLINT Forward Factory Team), who was promoted to 10th in the results - adding to what has been a strong weekend for the #9.

The Grand Prix paddock heads to Mugello in one week’s time for the iconic Gran Premio d’Italia Brembo, so make sure you don’t miss anything and keep up to date with all the action on motogp.com!

Top 10:

1 Ai Ogura (MT Helmets - MSI)  
2 Sergio Garcia (MT Helmets - MSI)   +3.816
3 Jake Dixon (CFMOTO Inde Aspar Team) +9.186
4 Jeremy Alcoba (Yamaha VR46 Master Camp Team) +12.241
5 Senna Agius (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) +12.593
6 Albert Arenas (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™)  +13.666
7 Alonso Lopez (MB Conveyors SpeedUp)   +17.676
8 Joe Roberts (OnlyFans American Racing Team)   +20.790
9 Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) +18.885
10 Jorge Navarro (KLINT Forward Factory Team) +21.249




25% OFF

Tune in for the rest of 2024 with MotoGP™ VideoPass and enjoy every second of every round

Subscribe Now!