Garzo takes Race 1 spoils after an intense Assen duel

The #4 takes victory ahead of Gutierrez and Torres after a thrilling end to Race 1 at Assen

Race 1 for the FIM Enel MotoE™ World Championship at the Motul TT Assen was unbelievable with drama around every corner in yet another twist in the Championship with Hector Garzo (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) stealing the victory on the last lap. The #4 pulled off a fantastic move on the final lap to overtake Alessandro Zaccone (Tech3 E-Racing), who led the majority of Race 1. Zaccone crossed the line to finish in second before later being disqualified due to a tyre pressure infringement. This handed Oscar Gutierrez (Axxis-MSI) second place after a brave last lap from the #99. Meanwhile, Jordi Torres (Openbank Aspar Team) took the final spot on the podium in the amended result.

However, Race 1 was not without drama for some of the other key contenders with LCR E-Team’s Mattia Casadei crashing on the first lap after contact with Andrea Mantovani (KLINT Forward Factory Team). 

Watch the full race:

The action does not stop here with Race 2 still to come at 16:10 local time (UTC +2), so make sure you keep up to date with all the action on!

Top 10: 

1 Hector Garzo (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™)  
2 Oscar Gutierrez (Axxis-MSI) +0.425
3 Jordi Torres (Openbank Aspar Team) +1.101
4 Miquel Pons (Axxis-MSI) +2.295
5 Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE™) +3.219
6 Massimo Roccoli (Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse) +3.265
7 Lukas Tulovic (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) +5.456
8 Alessio Finello (Felo Gresini MotoE™) +7.037
9 Chaz Davies (Aruba Cloud MotoE™ Racing Team) +7.460
10 Kevin Manfredi (Ongetta SIC58 Squadra Corse) +17.322