Bezzecchi beats rookie Canet to Day 2 top spot

The Italian sets a new lap record in Jerez as Aspar Team’s Canet impresses again

Marco Bezzecchi (SKY Racing Team VR46) set the timing screens alight in the second session of Day 2 to set a new lap record around the Circuito de Jerez-Angel Nieto. The Italian’s 1:40.448 was enough to beat rookie Aron Canet (Aspar Team) by 0.262 at the Jerez Test, with the injured Jorge Martin (Red Bull KTM Ajo) claiming a fantastic P3.

Under sunny Andalusian skies, Bezzecchi and Canet both beat Remy Gardner’s (Onexox TKKR SAG Team) new lap record time set on Day 1, the Australian finishing P13 on the second day of action. Fourth on Thursday was the experienced Tom Lüthi (Liqui Moly Intact GP) as both the Swiss and Jorge Navarro (Speed Up Racing) dipped below the 1:41 barrier. Xavi Vierge (Petronas Sprinta Racing) ended the day sixth fastest to finish 0.666 off Bezzecchi’s benchmark, but it wasn’t the day his teammate Jake Dixon would have been looking for. The British rider suffered a crash at Turn 2 in the second session which damaged his right-hand ring finger, the Moto2™ sophomore will now miss Day 3 as he flies back to the UK for further medical checks.

Seventh fastest on Day 2 went the way of Tetsuta Nagashima (Red Bull KTM Ajo), with Italians Lorenzo Baldassarri (FlexBox HP 40) and Luca Marini (SKY Racing Team VR46) also finishing seventh tenths off top spot. Completing the top 10 was American Racing’s Joe Roberts, the American setting his best lap in the final session of the day.

Other things to note: over in the EG 0,0 Marc VDS box, Augusto Fernandez had two extra bikes under Kalex covers. One of the two will have had Kalex’s 2020 chassis on them, something that Edgar Pons (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2) tested on Day 1. However, it is thought that most of the teams and riders are sticking with the 2019 chassis for now.

Keep up with Day 3 via Live Timing on!

Top 10 Day 2:
1. Marco Bezzecchi (SKY Racing Team VR46) – 1:40.448
2. Aron Canet (Aspar Team) + 0.262
3. Jorge Martin (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.459
4. Tom Lüthi (Liqui Moly Intact GP) + 0.462
5. Jorge Navarro (Speed Up Racing) + 0.533
6. Xavi Vierge (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.666
7. Tetsuta Nagashima (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.741
8. Lorenzo Baldassarri (FlexBox HP 40) + 0.759
9. Luca Marini (SKY Racing Team VR46) + 0.784
10. Joe Roberts (American Racing) + 0.853

Click here for the full results from both days! 

Fancy keeping up with all the 2020 preseason testing action and the 2020 season proper? Look no further than VideoPass!