Quartararo leads title rival Dovizioso in Barcelona FP1

The top four in the Championship occupied the top four positions on Friday morning at the Catalan GP – game on!

Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) led the way in MotoGP™ FP1 at the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya by nearly half a second, thanks to a 1:40.431. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) finished P2 on Friday morning, the Championship leader 0.430 off as the top four in the title race occupied the top four positions as proceedings kicked off in Barcelona – Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) and Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) finishing P3 and P4 respectively.

It was a sunny but cool start to the weekend for the premier class riders at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, and immediately Quartararo was at the top of the timesheets. The Yamahas were looking strong and it was the Frenchman who remained fastest throughout, eventually getting the better of Dovizioso – the only Ducati in the top 11. Third place Mir also looked good but it wasn’t all plain sailing for the Spaniard. Mir crashed with 25 minutes remaining after tucking the front of his GSX-RR at Turn 5 – rider ok.

Viñales was fourth but 0.674 off Quartararo, with Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) getting himself into P5 in the closing stages. The only other riders to get within a second of Quartararo’s time were Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) and Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) in P6 and P7. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP), the returning Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) and Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Tech3) completed the top 10 in FP1.

Iker Lecuona (Red Bull KTM Tech3) crashed unhurt at Turn 2.

FP2 gets underway at 14:10 local time (GMT+2) – tune in to see who takes Friday honours!

Top 10.
1. Fabio Quartararo (Petronas Yamaha SRT) – 1:40.431
2. Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) + 0.430
3. Joan Mir (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 0.629
4. Maverick Viñales (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 0.674
5. Aleix Espargaro (Aprilia Racing Team Gresini) + 0.764
6. Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha SRT) + 0.788
7. Alex Rins (Team Suzuki Ecstar) + 0.885
8. Valentino Rossi (Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP) + 1.105
9. Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda Castrol) + 1.118
10. Miguel Oliveira (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 1.161

Click here for the full results!

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!