Foggia fastest from Guevara in a frantic FP3

It was a thrilling end to Moto3™’s Saturday morning session as half a second split the top 14

Leopard Racing’s Dennis Foggia landed the fastest lap of Moto3™ FP3 at the Gran Premio TISSOT de Aragon to head the field into qualifying this afternoon. The Italian set a 1:58.051 to fend off rookie Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) by just 0.025s, as Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) completed the top three.

A fast and furious end to FP3

The first half of FP3 saw little improvement in terms of the combined times, with Binder and Foggia the only riders to go faster than they did on Friday with just under 20 minutes to go. However, with 15 minutes to go, that all changed. Guevara moved the goalposts to a 1:58.076 to sit 0.2s clear of teammate Sergio Garcia, as the latter suffered a small crash at Turn 9 just after going P2.

World Championship leader Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) was P21 as the riders headed onto their final flying laps, as a flurry of personal best times were slammed in. Foggia went fastest ahead of Guevara with Garcia cementing his place in Q2 as well, before Acosta made sure he was heading straight into Q2 too. A good last lap from the Spaniard handed him P9.

Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) claimed P4 to sit just over a tenth down on Foggia, with Friday pacesetter Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) completing the top five. Garcia sails through in P6 ahead of Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy), as rookie Lorenzo Fellon (SIC58 Squadra Corse) continues to enjoy his time at MotorLand Aragon – P8 for the Frenchman. Acosta got the job done late on to pick up P9, Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) rounded out the leading 10 riders in FP3.

Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Xavier Artigas (Leopard Racing), Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) and Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) are the final four to gain automatic Q2 entry.

Don't miss qualifying from Aragon!

So that’s it for Free Practice in the lightweight class, Moto3™ qualifying will get going at 12:35 local time (GMT+2).

Top 10:
1. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) – 1:58.051
2. Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.025
3. Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) + 0.101
4. Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.108
5. Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 0.173
6. Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.269
7. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) + 0.347
8. Lorenzo Fellon (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 0.364
9. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.381
10. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) + 0.385

Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!