Binder bags second pole of 2021 in Aragon

The South African got his unbeaten lap time in early, Acosta claims P9

Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) claimed a second pole position of 2021 after his 1:57.724 was good enough to beat Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) by 0.181s at the Gran Premio TISSOT de Aragon. Despite a late crash, Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) came through Q1 to pick up a front row start in third.

Binder returns to pole for first time since Qatar

Binder set the initial benchmark time in Q2, his 1.57.724 was 0.3s faster than second place Rodrigo. Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Pedro Acosta and Jaume Masia headed out on track but pulled straight into pitlane, some classic Moto3™ qualifying tactics in play, as Q1 graduate Suzuki moved into second with eight minutes to go.

Acosta and Masia did then head out in tandem, with the Championship leader slotting into P5 on his first lap. Masia, the rider ahead on the road and acting as a tow, was P13 ahead of Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team). A flurry of late personal best times came in as the riders completed their final laps, with Garcia briefly jumping up to P3, before Rodrigo promptly demoted the Spaniard to P4 after going P2.

Yellow flags were waved in Sector 2 after Suzuki crashed at Turn 7, which cost the likes of Acosta and Masia a final crack at the whip, so it meant Binder held onto P1 thanks to his strong opening flying lap.

Garcia leads Row 2, Acosta on Row 3

Garcia strung a good lap together at the end of Q2 to consolidate a P4 startling slot, the Championship contender will be joined my Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) and Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3). Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) claimed P7 and will head Row 3 for Sunday’s encounter, British GP podium finisher Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) and Acosta line-up alongside the Spaniard. SIC58 Squadra Corse rookie Lorenzo Fellon earned his second Q2 top 10 of the year in P10, the Frenchman continuing his strong weekend at MotorLand Aragon.

The likes of Izan Guevara (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team), Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing), Masia, Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3) and Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) will all be aiming to get themselves into the podium fight from Row 5 onwards, so – as ever – an intriguing lightweight class battle awaits at 11:00 local time (GMT+2). 

Top 10:
1. Darryn Binder (Petronas Sprinta Racing) – 1:57.724
2. Gabriel Rodrigo (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.181
3. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 0.252
4. Sergio Garcia (Gaviota GASGAS Aspar Team) + 0.345
5. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) + 0.379
6. Deniz Oncu (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 0.590
7. Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.638
8. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) + 0.657
9. Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.710
10. Lorenzo Fellon (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 0.739


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!