Masia leads Nepa by over a tenth, Acosta 11th

The Spaniard set the pace in Moto3™ FP3 as the top two in the title race head straight into Q2

Jauma Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) set the pace in Moto3™ FP3 at the Red Bull Grand Prix of The Americas to top the combined timesheets, the Spaniard’s 2:16.357 was good enough to see him beat second place Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) by 0.186s. Second in the Championship Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) rounded out the top three.

Acosta safely through into Q2

Dry conditions have greeted the riders on Saturday morning, with every rider – bar the absent Sergio Garcia (Solunion GASGAS Aspar Team) – able to go quicker than they did on Friday. Behind the leading trio comes Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) in P4, with rookie Xavier Artigas (Leopard Racing) impressing in P5.

The experienced COTA winner Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) comfortably heads into Q2 with a P6 at the end of Free Practice, Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) does too in P7. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) was able to recover to P8 after he suffered a mechanical issue on his out-lap in FP3, the Italian beat Friday pacesetter Filip Salac (CarXpert PrüstelGP) by 0.021s – the Czech rider finished P9. P10 went the way of Red Bull KTM Tech3’s Deniz Öncü.

World Championship leader Pedro Acosta (Red Bull KTM Ajo) sits just outside the top 10 in P11 ahead of qualifying, the Spaniard will be joined by Izan Guevara (Solunion GASGAS Aspar Team), Ayumu Sasaki (Red Bull KTM Tech3) and Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) in Q2.

The likes of Petronas Sprinta Racing duo John McPhee and Darryn Binder will have to contest in Q1 later today, as a very important qualifying session awaits. Watch the lightweight class battle for pole position at 12:35 local time (GMT-5)!

Top 10 combined:
1. Jaume Masia (Red Bull KTM Ajo) – 2:16.357
2. Stefano Nepa (BOE Owlride) + 0.186
3. Dennis Foggia (Leopard Racing) + 0.229
4. Niccolo Antonelli (Avintia VR46 Academy) + 0.256
5. Xavier Artigas (Leopard Racing) + 0.287
6. Romano Fenati (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) + 0.308
7. Jeremy Alcoba (Indonesian Racing Gresini Moto3) + 0.362
8. Andrea Migno (Rivacold Snipers Team) + 0.363
9. Filip Salac (CarXpert PrüstelGP) + 0.384
10. Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Tech3) + 0.508


Every practice session, qualifying battle and race, exclusive interviews, historic races and so much more fantastic content: this is VideoPass!