Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

How many different Moto2™ frames have won in Germany?

How many different Moto2™ frames have won in Germany?

All the most critical facts and figures about Moto2™ to prepare you for the GoPro Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland.

The Sachsenring always produces interesting Moto2™ races, here’s a look at the facts and numbers behind them:

  • Johann Zarco has had a single podium finish at the Sachsenring circuit – 2nd in the 125cc race in 2011.  Last year he crashed out of the Moto2™ race in Germany on the 15th lap at Turn 12; although he escaped unhurt his bike was badly damaged after spectacularly catching fire. Since taking the lead in the Moto2™ championship standings with a win in Argentina, Zarco has increased his lead in the championship at each of the subsequent races.

  • Tito Rabat’s best results at the Sachsenring are fourth place finishes in the 125cc race in 2010 and the Moto2™ race last year. The Sachsenring is the only circuit on the current grand prix schedule where Rabat has not had a podium finish during his time in the Moto2™ class.

  • At the Dutch TT, Sam Lowes returned to the podium for the first time since the third race of the year in Argentina and after finishing fourth at three successive races. Lowes finished 20th last year in Germany, after qualifying down in 26th place on the grid – his worst qualifying result of his debut season in the Moto2™ class.

  • Tom Luthi’s only podium finish at the Sachsenring is 2nd in 2005, the year he won the 125cc world title. His best results at the circuit in the Moto2™ class are fifth place finishes in both 2011 and 2012. 

  • Last year in Germany, Dominique Aegerter took his first and so far only grand prix win in what was his 129th grand prix start.

  • Mika Kallio has finished on the podium in Germany twice in the last three years; 2nd in both 2012 and last year. Kallio also won the 125cc GP race at the Sachsenring back in 2005.

  • Simone Corsi has been on the podium at the Sachsenring for the last two years; second in 2013 and third last year.  His third place finish in Germany in 2014 was the last time that he has stood on the podium.

  • Toni Elias, on a Moriwaki, won the Moto2™ race in Germany in 2010 and Suter riders have won for the last four years. The Sachsenring is one of only two circuits on the current grand prix schedule where Kalex have yet to score a grand prix win in the Moto2™ class – the other is Valencia.

  • In addition to Aegerter and Kallio mentioned above, the other riders who are currently competing in the Moto2™ class that have won grand prix races at the Sachsenring circuit are: Julian Simon (2009/125cc), Sandro Cortese (2012/Moto3™) and Alex Rins (2013/Moto3™).


Other updates you may be interested in ›