Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

MotoGP™ #StatAttack: British GP

MotoGP™ #StatAttack: British GP

Take a look ahead to the Octo British Grand Prix with a smorgasbord of all the stats you need.

This is the sixth year that Silverstone has hosted a grand prix since motorcycle world championship racing returned to the circuit in 2010 after a gap of 23 years. Below are some facts and statistics related to this event:

  • The first motorcycle grand prix event to be held at Silverstone in 1977 was the first motorcycle grand prix to be held on the British mainland, prior to 1977 the British round of the world championship had been held since 1949 on the 37.73 mile long Isle of Man TT circuit. The move from the Isle of Man was made mainly for reasons of rider safety.

  • The winners at that first grand prix at Silverstone in 1977 were: 500cc – Pat Hennen (Suzuki), 350cc & 250cc – Kork Ballington (Yamaha), 125cc - Pierluigi Conforti (Morbidelli).

  • The original circuit layout used for the grand prix from 1977 to 1986 was 2.93 miles long (4.71 km) and the fastest lap in a race at the circuit during this time was set by Kenny Roberts riding a Yamaha in 1983 at an average speed of 119.5 mph (192.2 km/h).

  • The British grand prix was held for ten successive years at the Silverstone circuit, before the event moved to Donington Park in 1987. The British GP returned to Silverstone in 2010 with a revised circuit layout measuring 5.9 km.

  • Kork Ballington and Angel Nieto are the two riders with most GP victories at Silverstone, each having won there on six occasions.

  • The only two riders who have had more than a single victory at Silverstone since GP racing returned to the circuit in 2010 are Jorge Lorenzo and Marc Marquez. Lorenzo has won the MotoGP race there three times: 2010, 2012 & 2013; Marquez won the 125cc race in 2010 and the MotoGP race last year.

  • Twelve British riders have finished on the podium across all the solo classes of grand prix racing at Silverstone: John Williams (1977/350cc/3rd), Barry Sheene (1978/500cc/3rd, 1979/500cc/2nd), Tom Herron (1978/250cc/2nd, 1978/350cc/2nd), Steve Manship (1978/500cc/2nd), Mick Grant (1978/350cc/3rd), Clive Horton (1978/125cc/2nd), Keith Huewen (1981/350cc/2nd), Andy Watts (1984/250cc/2nd), Ron Haslam (1984/500cc/3rd), Ian McConnachie (1986/80cc/1st),  Bradley Smith (2010/125cc/3rd, 2011/Moto2/2nd) and Scott Redding (2012/Moto2/2nd, 2013/Moto2/1st)

  • Since the world championship grand prix series returned to Silverstone in 2010, the best result for a British rider in the MotoGP class at their home grand prix is 6th by Cal Crutchlow in 2012.

  • Yamaha have won three of the five MotoGP races that have taken place at Silverstone, with Honda taking the other two victories.

  • The best results in MotoGP for Ducati at the Silverstone circuit are fourth place finishes for Nicky Hayden in both 2010 and 2011.

  • ·    The best MotoGP result for Suzuki at Silverstone is 5th with Alvaro Bautista in 2011, which was the best result of the year for any Suzuki rider.


MotoGP, 2015, OCTO BRITISH GRAND PRIX, #StatAttack, #BritishGP

Other updates you may be interested in ›