Tickets purchase
VideoPass purchase

Oliveira wins race but Kent takes Moto3™ title

Oliveira wins race but Kent takes Moto3™ title

Miguel Oliveira takes the race win, but Danny Kent crosses the line in 9th to become the 2015 Moto3™ World Champion.

Leopard Racing’s Danny Kent became the first British World Champion since Barry Sheene in the 500cc class in 1977 at the Gran Premio Motul de la Comunitat Valenciana. Kent’s only title rival, Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Miguel Oliveira, knew that he had to win and Kent finish 15th or lower to deny the Brit the title and he did his part by taking the race victory, but was denied the championship by Kent’s mature performance.

Starting from fourth, Oliveira took the lead at the very first corner and rode superbly in the leading pack to control the race and win by 0.198s from Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Jorge Navarro after Niccolo Antonelli (Ongetta-Rivacold) crashed at the last corner, taking out podium challengers Efren Vazquez (Leopard Racing) and Romano Fenati (Sky Racing Team VR46) in the process.

The left Drive M7 SIC’s Jakub Kornfeil to complete the podium, but Sunday belonged to Kent as he finished in ninth to secure the title at his fourth attempt. The British rider had to start from 18th on the grid, but by the end of lap 1 he was already in 15th. Slowly but surely he made his way through the field up to 11th, before being embroiled in a battle with his teammate Hiroki Ono over the last couple of laps. Kent dropped down to 12th on the last lap as Ono made his move, but with the three riders falling ahead of him on that last corner; it meant Kent finished in ninth, secured 7 points and ended the 38 year wait for a British World Champion. That meant Kent (260pts) secured the title from Oliveira (254pts) by six points to become the first British lightweight champion since Dave Simmonds in 1969.

It was Navarro’s fourth podium in the last five races, as the Spaniard took seventh in the standings at the expense of the unlucky Vazquez. Kornfeil returned to the podium for only the second time in his career, after his second placed finish at Silverstone earlier in the year.

Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Brad Binder crossed the line in 4th after starting from 9th and working his way through the pack during the race, ahead of Enea Bastianini on the Gresini Racing Team Moto3 Honda in fifth.

RBA Racing Team’s Isaac Viñales recorded his 11th top ten finish of the season in sixth, in front of pole man John McPhee (SAXOPRINT RTG) who faded during the race to finish in seventh.

Kent’s teammate Ono beat him to the line to secure eighth, with Kent ninth and Phillip Oettl (Schedl GP Racing) completing the top ten.

Karel Hanika (Red Bull KTM Ajo) crashed out on lap 11 at the Mick Doohan corner and was taken to the Medical Centre for checks after feeling dizzy. There were also DNF’s for Alessandro Tonucci, Juanfran Guevara, Tatsuki Suzuki and Remy Gardner while Fabio Quartararo was forced to retire on his return from injury.

Check out the full Moto3™ race results and the final 2015 Moto3™ World Championship standings.

Moto3, 2015, GRAN PREMIO MOTUL DE LA COMUNITAT VALENCIANA, RAC, Jakub Kornfeil, Danny Kent, Miguel Oliveira, Jorge Navarro, Leopard Racing, Red Bull KTM Ajo, #KentChamp

Follow the story ›

Other updates you may be interested in ›