Arbolino blitzes Moto3™ lap record for Mugello pole

Home sweet home for Arbolino, who topped an unpredictable Moto3™ qualifying session

Q2 showcased even more hectic activity from the Moto3™ class, as Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) blasted his way to pole position for his home Grand Prix, with a new lap record. In second place, Gabriel Rodrigo (Kömmerling Gresini Moto3) was back on the front row, whilst third place belonged to Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing). Heading up row two was Andrea Migno (Bester Capital Dubai), looking for his second Moto3™ win at Mugello. Fifth, Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) will be hoping for more front-running come race day.

The Moto3™ qualifying began with a thrilling Q1, which saw Raul Fernandez (Samar Qatar Angel Nieto Team) take top slot ahead of fellow countryman Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing), South Africa’s Darryn Binder (CIP Green Power) and Andrea Migno (Bester Capital Dubai). It went down to the final few seconds and until then, wildcard Kevin Zannoni (RGR TM Official Team) was inside the top four – he will start 24th on the grid, having been shuffled back in the closing stages.

Completing the second row was Suzuki’s teammate, Niccolo Antonelli, ahead of 2014 Mugello Moto3™ winner, Romano Fenati (VNE Snipers) and Losail winner, Kaito Toba (Honda Team Asia). Rounding out row three, Marcos Ramirez made the most of what has been a difficult day at Mugello, whereas championship leader Aron Canet (Sterilgada Max Racing Team) completed the top ten.

Riders who did not feature near the sharp-end of proceedings include John McPhee (Petronas Sprinta Racing) who was 18th, whilst Celestino Vietti (SKY Racing Team VR46) was only one place higher, in 17th.

For full Q2 results, click here!

Top ten:
1. Tony Arbolino (VNE Snipers) – 1:56.407
2. Gabriel Rodrigo (Kömmerling Gresini Moto3) + 0.673
3. Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Leopard Racing) + 0.869
4. Andrea Migno (Bester Capital Dubai) + 1.031
5. Tatsuki Suzuki (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 1.046
6. Niccolo Antonelli (SIC58 Squadra Corse) + 1.048
7. Romano Fenati (VNE Snipers) + 1.118
8. Kaito Toba (Honda Team Asia) + 1.126
9. Marcos Ramirez (Leopard Racing) + 1.144
10. Aron Canet (Sterilgarda Max Racing Team) + 1.168

Watch every 2019 race LIVE & OnDemand and enjoy the whole video library, including technical features, exclusives interviews and classic races, with the MotoGP™ VideoPass