Veijer finds untouchable form in India

Practice 2 saw a masterclass from the rookie as he showed his worth on a level playing field with Championship leader Holgado hitting the deck

Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) found an extra gear in the afternoon session as he convincingly went top to lead the way at the IndianOil Grand Prix of India with a 1:59.566. The Dutch rookie was the first rider to break the 2-minute barrier and put in consistent laps on his own to chip away at the leading benchmark. Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) was looking as strong as ever as he joined the Dutchman as the only other rider in the 1:59 club, just +0186s shy of top time. Stefano Nepa (Angeluss MTA Team) rounded out the top three after keeping himself consistently in the top half of the timing sheets. 

Despite taking a tumble, David Alonso (GASGAS Aspar Team) had another strong showing in Moto3™. The Colombian finds himself in P4 on day 1, and having taken three wins in the last four races, you can bet the rookie will be a force to be reckoned with come Sunday. Riccardo Rossi (SIC58 Squadra Corse) rounded out the top five ahead of the Brazilian Diogo Moreira (MT Helmets MSI).

Ayumu Sasaki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) bagged P7 to kick off day 1 of the flyaway run, with Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team), and Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Ajo) rounding out the top 10.

It was a tough start to the weekend for the Championship leader Daniel Holgado (Red Bull KTM Tech3). The Spaniard suffered a nasty off towards the end of the session and finished the day in P13 with the all-important Q2 spots up for grabs on Saturday. 

Moto3™ action continues on Saturday, make sure not to miss any of the action with Practice 3 at 09:10 and qualifying at 13:20 local time (GMT +5:30).

Top 10

1 Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) 1:59.566
2 Jaume Masia (Leopard Racing) +0.186
3 Stefano Nepa (Angeluss MTA Team) +0.556
4 David Alonso (GASGAS Aspar Team) +0.629
5 Ricardo Rossi (SIC58 Squadra Corse) +0.762
6 Diogo Moreira (MT Helmets – MSI) +0.797
7 Ayumu Sasaki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) +0.846
8 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) +0.964
9 Matteo Bertelle (Rivacold Snipers Team)  +0.972
10 Deniz Öncü (Red Bull KTM Ajo)  +1.041


Follow the entire 2023 Season LIVE & VOD with VideoPass!