Garcia flies to the top ahead of Roberts in Barcelona

The #3 was quickest on Saturday morning and broke the lap record to finish ahead of Roberts and Dixon

It was an astonishing start to an important Saturday for the Moto2™ field at the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya, with Championship leader Sergio Garcia (MT Helmets – MSI) raising the bar in Moto2™ after setting a new lap record to end Practice 2 quickest. Garcia set a magnificent 1:41.917 to grab top honours and end the session ahead 0.040s clear of Joe Roberts (OnlyFans American Racing Team) in a close field. The American was ahead of Jake Dixon (CFMOTO Inde Aspar Team), who rounded out the top three after improving significantly on his time from Friday.

Times were instantly fast with Muñoz topping the standings early on - improving on Jorge Navarro’s time from Friday. However, in the closing 10 minutes, all talk would surround Garcia, who was the first rider to enter the 1:41 bracket. Meanwhile, with everyone improving late on it pushed Aron Canet (Fantic Racing) outside the top 14 with the #44 unable to improve.

In fourth position was IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia’s Somkiat Chantra, who was fourth and straight on the pace on Saturday and set 15 laps across the session. The #35 was ahead of Manuel Gonzalez (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™), who rounds out the top five ahead of qualifying. Gonzalez was just 0.393s adrift from the top spot and just 0.003s quicker than Alonso Lopez (MB Conveyors SpeedUp) in sixth. Lopez set a great time in the last 10 minutes after the #21 was outside the top 20. Meanwhile, after showing pace throughout the entire session Pertamina Mandalika GAS UP Team’s Daniel Muñoz ended Practice 2 in seventh.

Muñoz was ahead of Fermin Aldeguer (MB Conveyors SpeedUp) in eighth, who was less than half a second away from Garcia. In ninth position was Albert Arenas (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™), as Ai Ogura (MT Helmets – MSI) rounded out the top 10. Filip Salac (Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) and RW-Idrofoglia Racing GP’s Zonta Van Den Goorbergh head into qualifying in 11th and 12th, with CFMOTO Inde Aspar Team’s Izan Guevara and Tony Arbolino Elf Marc VDS Racing Team) taking the final top 14 positions with direct entry to Q2. However, having to fight through Q1, later on, will be some big names, including Canet, Jorge Navarro (KLINT Forward Factory Team), and both Red Bull KTM Ajo machines.

Qualifying is next up with the grid to be decided at 13:45 local time (UTC +2), so make sure you don’t miss anything on!

Combined top 10:

1 Sergio Garcia (MT Helmets - MSI)  1:41.917
2 Joe Roberts (OnlyFans American Racing Team)  +0.040
3 Jake Dixon (CFMOTO Inde Aspar Team) +0.076
4 Somkiat Chantra (IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia) +0.377
5 Manuel Gonzalez (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™)  +0.393
6 Alonso Lopez (MB Conveyors SpeedUp)   +0.396
7 Daniel Muñoz (Pertamina Mandalika GAS UP Team) +0.464
8 Fermin Aldeguer (MB Conveyors SpeedUp)  +0.466
9 Albert Arenas (QJMOTOR Gresini Moto2™) +0.475
10 Ai Ogura (MT Helmets - MSI) +0.476




25% OFF

Tune in for the rest of 2024 with MotoGP™ VideoPass and enjoy every second of every round

Subscribe Now!