Zaccone storms to pole position ahead of Tulovic in Italy

The Italian stormed to take magnificent pole position at Mugello and a new lap record

The FIM Enel MotoE™ World Championship returns for more action at the Gran Premio d’Italia Brembo with an exciting qualifying session to decide the grid. There were spots of rain beginning to fall around the circuit to add to the drama of qualifying. However, these conditions did not affect the riders in the final minutes of Q2, with Alessandro Zaccone (Tech3 E-Racing) charging to pole position after setting a sensational 1:55.466. The #61 took a new lap record to end qualifying, 0.312s clear of Lukas Tulovic (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) in second position. Tulovic showed great pace throughout the session to jump to second in the final two minutes allowing the #3 to start ahead of his Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™ teammate Hector Garzo, who will round out the front row at Mugello.

Heading the second row of the grid on Saturday will be Eric Granado (LCR E-Team), who qualified in fourth ahead of teammate Mattia Casadei in a great session for the LCR E-Team. Both riders will be looking for redemption in Italy after crashing out of the Race 2 in Barcelona. Rounding out a very competitive second row of the grid will be Championship leader Kevin Zannoni (Openbank Aspar Team) in sixth position.

Nicholas Spinelli (Tech3 E-Racing) will start from seventh on the grid with work to do in the race to recover valuable points lost in Barcelona. Behind Spinelli were both Felo Gresini MotoE™ riders of Matteo Ferrari and Alessio Finello, who round off a strong third row of the grid – ready for racing on Saturday. Further down the order after he was unable to set a time in Q2 was KLINT Forward Factory Team’s Andrea Mantovani, who crashed out of Q1 late in the session due to tricky conditions. Catalan GP Race 1 winner, Oscar Gutierrez (Axxis-MSI) will also have work to do after qualifying down in P15.

Make sure you don't miss both races on Saturday with lights out at 12:15 local time (UTC +2) for Race 1 before Race 2 gets underway at 16:10 local time, so make sure you keep up to date with all the action and don't miss anything on!

Top 10:

1 Alessandro Zaccone (Tech3 E-Racing)  1:55.466
2 Lukas Tulovic (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) +0.312
3 Hector Garzo (Dynavolt Intact GP MotoE™) +0.406
4 Eric Granado (LCR E-Team) +0.449
5 Mattia Casadei (LCR E-Team)  +0.475
6 Kevin Zannoni (Openbank Aspar Team) +0.517
7 Nicholas Spinelli (Tech3 E-Racing)  +0.686
8 Matteo Ferrari (Felo Gresini MotoE™) +0.871
9 Alessio Finello (Felo Gresini MotoE™) +1.185
10 Andrea Mantovani (KLINT Forward Factory Team)  




25% OFF

Tune in for the rest of 2024 with MotoGP™ VideoPass and enjoy every second of every round

Subscribe Now!