Alonso continues to dominate ahead of qualifying in Italy

The Colombian was quickest on Saturday morning and claimed a new lap record ahead of Yamanaka and Veijer

It was a bright start to Saturday morning at the Gran Premio d’Italia Brembo, with David Alonso (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) remaining fastest after a fantastic morning at Mugello. The #80 spent most of the session alone on track before breaking his own lap record and setting a 1:53.926. Chasing behind Alonso will be Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets – MSI), who was another late improver on his final fly lap of the morning. Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP’s Collin Veijer stormed to third after he continued a strong weekend, ending Practice 2 0.789s behind Alonso’s benchmark.

Most of the grid left their fast laps until the final five minutes, in a last chance to earn their spot inside the top 14. In the last five minutes, David Almansa (Kopron Rivacold Snipers Team) crashed on the exit of turn 14 – putting an end to his session. Once the yellow flags were removed, Alonso soon put in an incredible lap in the final minute to once again improve on the previous lap record.

Behind the top three was Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP – MTA), who is looking strong in fourth position after setting 13 laps across the session. Behind the #82 was Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets – MSI), who rounded out the top five – hoping to find time before Sunday’s race. Ortola was ahead of the incredibly quick Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) in sixth and was the final rider inside the 1:54 bracket. Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) took seventh and the honours as the top Honda ahead of the rookie Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3).

Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) was ninth ahead of compatriot Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia), who took the final spot in the top 10. Just outside the top 10 were CIP Green Power’s Riccardo Rossi and Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Xabi Zurutuza in 11th and 12th. Finally, Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) and Luca Lunetta (SIC58 Squadra Corse) took the final spots inside the top 14 for direct entry into Q2.

It is almost time for Moto3™ qualifying at 12:50 local time (UTC +2) which sets the grid for Sunday, so make sure you don’t miss any of the action and tune in on!

Combined top 10:

1 David Alonso (CFMOTO Valresa Aspar Team) 1:53.926
2 Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets - MSI)  +0.720
3 Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)   +0.789
4 Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP – MTA) +0.919
5 Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets - MSI)  +0.988
6 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo)  +1.043
7 Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) +1.228
8 Jacob Roulstone (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) +1.282
9 Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)   +1.309
10 Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) +1.437




25% OFF

Tune in for the rest of 2024 with MotoGP™ VideoPass and enjoy every second of every round

Subscribe Now!