Veijer seeks redemption and takes pole from Alonso

The #95 returns to pole position in Germany ahead of Alonso and Lunetta after a thrilling qualifying

Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) has stormed to his maiden pole position of 2024, after an unbelievable lap in Germany. The #95 has looked strong throughout the weekend and will start alongside title rival David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team) on the front row, after taking P2. The Colombian was 0.336s adrift from Veijer and was briefly on provisional pole at the Sachsenring. Joining Veijer and Alonso on the front row is Luca Lunetta (SIC58 Squadra Corse), who stormed to third on the grid and claimed his first front-row Grand Prix start.

Action-packed Q2

It was a fast Q1, with Joel Esteban (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team) fastest and earning a spot in Q2 alongside Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3), Matteo Bertelle (Kopron Rivacold Snipers Team), and MLav Racing’s Scott Ogden. This led to an exciting Q2, with Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing) topping timesheets early on before Alonso responded at hit the top for the first time this weekend.

As the session progressed, Veijer took provisional pole position, setting a stunning 1:25.385. Alonso soon responded with less than two minutes remaining, with Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets – MSI) also setting a strong lap which was cancelled due to a yellow flag after Bertelle suffered a crash. However, Veijer soon put together the lap of his life to destroy the lap record on his final flying lap.

Strong qualifying for Fernandez

On the second row on Sunday is Fernandez, who was incredibly quick after working with his teammate and pulling off an impressive save at Turn 1 after his fast lap. Joining the #31 on the second row of the grid is Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo), who rounded out the top five and was a further 0.002s behind Fernandez. BOE Motorsports’ David Muñoz completes the second row in sixth after a consistent weekend so far for the #64.

Meanwhile, after fighting through Q1, Ogden will start from P7 on the grid after an impressive lap from the British rider. Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) took eighth and will join Ogden on the second row as the #72 sets his sights on Sunday. Moto3™ veteran Tatsuki Suzuki will start from ninth, capping a successful day for the Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP squad. Meanwhile, Holgado is down in 13th on the grid alongside Ortola, with both riders facing a huge task ahead.


There was drama ahead of qualifying as it was announced that Bertelle, Esteban, Filippo Farioli (SIC58 Squadra Corse) and Josh Whatley (MLav Racing) will all start from the pitlane on Sunday. There would be further penalties announced for, Carraro, Lunetta, Riccardo Rossi (CIP Green Power), Tatchakorn Buasri (Honda Team Asia), and Xabi Zurutuza (Red Bull KTM), who all must take a double Long Lap during the German GP. While, David Almansa (Kopron Rivacold Snipers Team), Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets – MSI), Ortola and Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP - MTA) were handed a single Long Lap penalty.

It is almost time to go racing in Germany with lights out on Sunday at 11:00 local time (UTC +2), so make sure you don’t miss anything on!

Top 10:

1 Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)  1:24.885
2 David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team)  +0.336
3 Luca Lunetta (SIC58 Squadra Corse) +0.337
4 Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing)  +0.501
5 Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo)    +0.503
6 David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports)  +0.545
7 Scott Ogden (MLav Racing) +0.552
8 Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) +0.603
9 Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)  +0.769
10 Stefano Nepa (LEVELUP - MTA) +0.821