Alonso celebrates Sachsenring success as Veijer crashes early

The Colombian stormed to an impressive victory ahead of Furusato and Ortola in Germany

It was time to battle at the Liqui Moly Motorrad Grand Prix Deutschland, with David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team) returning to the top step of the podium after a dramatic Sunday. The Colombian won by just 0.187s from Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia), who took second after starting P8 on the grid and showing consistent pace throughout the race. Meanwhile, Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets – MSI) pulled off a fantastic recovery ride after starting P12 on the grid and serving a Long Lap penalty. The #48 took the final spot on the podium after carving his way through the field and setting the fastest lap of the race.

Once the lights went out, it was Collin Veijer (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP), who secured the holeshot and stormed into the lead at Turn 1. While the #95 led an intense battle for P2 unfolded with David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports) and Luca Lunetta (SIC58 Squadra Corse) going head-to-head. Lunetta was one of the many riders, who had to serve a double Long Lap.

However, Veijer’s Grand Prix came to an abrupt end, losing the front at Turn 11 and crashing out of the lead. This promoted Muñoz into the lead with David Alonso hot on his tail with the Colombian back in P1 on Lap 4.

Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) soon pulled off an unbelievable save at Turn 7 after the #72 was forced to take avoiding action and ride through the gravel.

10 riders were battling for the victory, with Jacob Roulstone having a huge moment after contact with Leopard Racing’s Angel Piqueras. Roulstone stayed on the bike but would lose any hope of a podium and reducing the front group to nine. Meanwhile, Noah Dettwiler (CIP Green Power) crashed at Turn 4 before things went from bad to worse for Roulstone with a crash at Turn 11. Lunetta would also fall later in the Grand Prix after a crash at the tricky Turn 1.

Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets – MSI) was back inside the lead group after a sensational ride, starting P12 on the grid and completing a single Long Lap penalty. Ortola would soon fight for the podium with Furusato, Jose Antonio Rueda (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Alonso as a handful of laps remained.

Rueda’s hopes were soon crushed after his rear wheel locked up on the entry to Turn 1 with just 2 laps remaining. The #99 was soon on his feet and would leave Germany with zero Championship points.

It was a tense final lap between Alonso and Furusato with the #72 pushing to the limit and losing the rear. This allowed the Colombian to put together a perfect final sector, charging to a magical victory in Germany and winning by less than two-tenths. Furusato held off Ortola on the run to the final corner to keep P2 as the #48 rounded out the podium positions.

Leopard Racing celebrated a fantastic day with Fernandez taking fourth at the line from his rookie teammate Piqueras, who took the final position in the top five. Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets – MSI) secured P6 at the chequered flag to finish ahead of the sole remaining Red Bull GASGAS Tech3 rider of Daniel Holgado in seventh. Muñoz would finish P8 after showing great pace and finished a mere 0.224s ahead of Moto3™ veteran Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP) in ninth. MLav Racing’s Scott Ogden took the final spot inside the top 10 to round off a brilliant weekend for the British rider.

The Summer break is next before the paddock returns at the start of August for the legendary British GP with the Moto3™ title fight beginning to heat up. So, make sure you keep up to date with everything on!

Top 10:

1 David Alonso (CFMOTO Gaviota Aspar Team)   
2 Taiyo Furusato (Honda Team Asia) +0.187
3 Ivan Ortola (MT Helmets - MSI) +0.339
4 Adrian Fernandez (Leopard Racing)  +2.362
5 Angel Piqueras (Leopard Racing)  +2.438
6 Ryusei Yamanaka (MT Helmets - MSI) +3.786
7 Daniel Holgado (Red Bull GASGAS Tech3) +3.869
8 David Muñoz (BOE Motorsports)  +5.461
9 Tatsuki Suzuki (Liqui Moly Husqvarna Intact GP)  +5.685
10 Scott Ogden (MLav Racing) +5.817